We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro and so funky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #34 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a quick 2 nites in savannah and we're so pleased we picked the thunderbird inn. It's extremely central to the historic district and we were able to walk everywhere. The staff were all lovely and able to point us in the right direction for food, drinks and fun. And above all, we loved that it was retro! It's well maintained with new beds but had all the retro decor touches. Donuts and coffee for breakfast were an excellent touch too. Perfect!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jenfromsunnyqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm glad you loved your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in late July -- the room was clean and comfortable, the lobby and staff were very welcoming. Nice tunes on speakers in the parking lot. Welcome lemonaid a nice touch. Super location! Kind of on the edge of the downtown area, but very walkable and nice to leave the hubub behind at the end of the night and return someplace a little quieter. The only downside is the WiFi is awful, but it usually is in hotels, I find. We were on the 2nd floor, and I'd request that on a future stay -- just to get away from the parking lot. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, select a 2nd floor room to get away from the noise/smells of parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your review! I'm so happy you noticed our efforts to preserve our environment. I look forward to having you back!

regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I visited Savannah on a mother/daughter trip and was looking forward to the Thunderbird based on the reviews and their website. Unfortunately, my enthusiasm was short-lived. This was a glamorized motel without the glam. The room was on the ground floor and undesirable characters were lurking about. We didn't feel safe. Additionally, the room was dingy and dirty. The white bedspreads have gone gray and there was hair (plural) n the bathroom floor. We checked out 5 min. after checking in and I was still charged $150.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

I have left you a message on your phone. There are some discrepancies I want to work out with you.

regards,

Mark Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Great find with great location. Independently owned with all of the small touches that you'd never find in a chain. Krispy Kreme breakfast! Great, helpful desk service. Genuine retro aesthetic, not faux retro chic. Real deal. Great for the young traveller or a family.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LonelyTravelDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for loving our authentic retro! I hope you come back and see us again. If you love retro, check out TravelRetro. They have a great collection of inns like ours.

regards,

Mark Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hoping for funky-cool experience as advertised ... just got funk. Might be a cute idea and very sweet people, but cant recommend staying here. What's part of 'renovated' leaves filthy carpets in place, bed pretty worn out and stained linens? Wi-fi too weak and slow to matter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear A,
Thank you so much for your time on the phone today. I am pleased that the silver lining to your bad experience was our outstanding staff. I was sure to pass on your compliments to each of them.
I also wanted to reiterate that I really appreciate your feedback. I take it seriously. All of your critiques are in the process of being resolved and in most rooms are a non issue. It seems that you're room was the perfect storm of mistakes. I wish you would have given our staff the opportunity to move you so you could see that it was a fluke.
I hope in the future you will give us another opportunity.

regards,

Mark Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Loved the RETRO look of hotel. Bed was very comfortable. Hotel close to all major attraction. Great price compared to other hotels in area. loved delicious krispy kreme doughnuts. Loved the toiletries attached to the wall unfortunately they were not for sale. Music playing in parking lot was a treat.

Room Tip: Keep in mind this is not the Marriott. But a pleasant unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank czb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you love the toiletries. They are for sale , we are just out currently. They are ordered! they can be purchased on our website. If you love retro, check out TravelRetro.

Thank you again!
Mark Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Spent a night here and found the room to be clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Not too far from the riverfront and an easy walk to restaurants and bars. Enjoyed the moon pies and rc colas and the classic funky tunes playing outside. Would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you spent a night with us and had the opportunity to experience the retro touches! I hope your travels will bring you here again! If you love retro, you should look up TravelRetro!

regards,

Mark Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#28 of 116 in Savannah
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $147 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing