We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great deal for the price”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We didn't pay much for the room because we got a great Groupon deal. Even though we didn't spend much money the hotel was great. The hotel was just right for one night in Savannah. We had a great time walking from the hotel to the sites, restaurants, and bars. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was pretty quite at night, especially for a Saturday night.

Green Features: We are very environmentally conscious and try to recycle as much as possible. I really like that the Thunderbird had a recycling bin in the room. You don't see that very often.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    583
    249
    123
    73
See reviews for
382
732
108
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crumpler, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Great stay in funky 50's style motel one block from Old Town Trolly tours main station. Clean rooms that smell fresh. Beds are comfortable. Little sparse on sink soap. Frig-yes. No microwave or coffee maker in room. Friendly, cheerful & helpful staff. It's a pet friendly place if you're traveling with your "best friend". Smoke free rooms. Main office offers Crispy Creme donuts, apple & orange juice, coffee, tea, hot water for breakfast. Plenty of good breakfast eateries within 10-15 min walk to harbor area. Same for good dinner dining and seafood. An overnight stay affords you free parking the following day. Very safe area to walk day or night - well lite & patrolled. Very close to SCAD college campus.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RamblinJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel wasn't to fancy but did the job!
The staff was very friendly and my boyfriend and I loved how they left moon pies on the pillows!
Definitly cheaper than other hotels in the area and was in a perfect location for walking everywhere we wanted To go!!! We didn't use our car once!!

The only thing is, if your a light sleeper the cars on the nearby road may keep you up at night, but it didnt bother us to much!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sami6032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We payed almost triple the going rate for the weekend we were in town, not realizing that the hotel is normally so cheap. We assumed the hotel quality would match the price. However the value for that price we paid was horrendous. Our particular room was very dirty and smelled pretty gross.

I could forgive much this at the far cheaper price that I'm seeing quoted here occasionally, so just a word of warning - don't spend too much!! Don't make our mistake, make sure you are paying a price that would match an old motel.

The staff was great though, and I love the idea of the old school motel feel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us via TripAdvisor. I understand that you weren't happy with the price you paid, but to my knowledge there was never an issue with the quality of the room.

The weekends are higher than the weekdays in Savannah as a whole because that is when the demand is the greatest. That is particularly noticeable in the off season when we all lower rates during the week to pull travelers into the city who might be looking for less expensive options along the interstate. It is an attempt by all of us to drive a great value when we can, not to set us up for a "price gouging" situation.

Just to set the record straight... We are always the best valued option in the historic district, period.

I am truly sorry you felt ripped off. That isn't what I or any of my staff want you to walk away feeling.

regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place has character. You will love it too if you like fancy old-style places.
The bed was great, so comfortable. Room was clean and had everything. Staff was super friendly. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seremariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I am so pleased you had a great time with us! I hope you will swing by again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years when visiting Savannah, GA for the obvious reasons of a great price and good location. However, I was never completely satisfied with the level of customer service offered, and after my visit a little under a year ago, the service was so unprofessional, I vowed to never come back, until now. We booked on hotwire, and didn't see the name of the hotel we had reserved until complete, and I was initially very disappointed. But thanks to Spencer at the front desk, my opinion of this hotel has completely changed to the point I am now recommending it as a preferred place to stay when visiting Savannah. He was beyond attentive, professional, and extremely kind. They were fully booked when I stayed, and he handled himself and the flow of traffic extremely well. I am very thankful for Spencer, as he is the main reason why I will be staying here again very soon!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I hate that you have had less than fantastic experiences here in the past. I very much push customer service with all of my staff. I am thrilled Spencer took great care of you. He is a fantastic person. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grabs, Switzerland
Level Contributor
358 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Found this quirky looking place on T.A and decided to include it on a motorcycle tour.
I like places that are different and especial old style motels where I can pull my bike up outside my room.
The Good - Not too far from the sea front where we wanted to be. Rooms comfortable but not more.
The Bad - Was disappointed to learn that they have a 'Flexible' price system where even a hint of anything going on downtown and they jack them up. Breakfast was a mean and measly affair I had even better at Super 8's
Overall - I felt a little ripped off. I do not reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buellrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I hate that you felt ripped off. That is never our goal. Even when our rate increases we are always the best price in the historic district. I also hate that you didn't enjoy the Krispy Kreme doughnuts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing