We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful stay, simply amazing staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersGold level
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay, simply amazing staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is an old motel, but extremely clean. I can't even put into words how amazing, outgoing and helpful the staff are. I hope I have his name right, Adam (beautiful blue eyes) went above and beyond to help us make not only out stay, but our vacation PERFECT!!! I would recommend this inn to everyone, you simply so not get this kind of service anywhere else! The RC cola and moon pies were a cute touch. We will be back and can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    416
    181
    96
    62
See reviews for
249
491
66
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I are not picky travelers and we are good with staying in 3 star hotels. But keeping that in mind, it is hard to accept paying more than $100 a night for a hotel that will not give you enough towels. 2 towels and one washcloth for two people. No hand towels. We had to ask for more linens not just the second morning but the third as well. That morning they took away our dirty linens but left us with no towels at all. Trash was not taken up, beds were not made but the covers were pulled up. Aside from the housekeeping issues, the bath gel dispenser in the shower would not pump soap. It looks like one of the bathroom lights was removed for a new a/c unit (which did work great) so the sink area was very dark. We travelled to Savannah to see the town, not stay in a hotel but overall it was disappointing experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KateW375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
You are so right. If we don't have a clean room, what else is there? I hate this was your experience. As you can see from the reviews, it is not the norm. I hope you will come give us another opportunity to let us wow you. Mark@thethunderbirdinn.com is my direct email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was very comfy, rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpful providing tips in what places to eat and do stuff around downtown. I give the hotel a 10. Excellent location and service. Easy checkin and check out process with no delays

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joemerc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our room was small but sufficient for dropping our daughter off at SCAD and spending a couple nights. Looks like they put in a new AC unit recently which worked well. Bathroom is tiny but sink is outside the bathroom which works well for us. Beds were comfy and room nicely decorated and clean. They were fully booked, and we had to hustle for towels, but it was not a big deal. Staff was very nice, and the young lady at the front desk took the time to map things out for us. This is an easy walk into the heart of downtown, but there was no problem with noise or anything at night. The parking lot is small and can be seen from the desk which is manned all night. We needed to bring the pickup to move our daughter, and parking is very tight; better to bring a small car whenever possible. Will stay again.

Green Features: Shampoo, soap and conditioner dispensers in shower are nice. Only a lotion dispenser by the sink - soap would be more practical. Not a big deal though.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Traveled to Savannah with friends, don't remember who suggested we stay at The Thunderbird Inn, two rooms produced two different experiences! One room had the RC and Moonpie (crunch) and the other only the Moonpie. One room had a working TV, ironing board, telephone, and coffee maker and the other did not. Location is convenient to much of what's happening at night and day! Mostly good, but being near the bus station does make for some interesting people watching! Rooms were clean, help was helpful and tried to make up for the experience for those in the one room. As one of our friends said though, this place needs to take its own hype a little more seriously. When you get written up as destination you need to live up to that rep, everyday in every room! Oh yeah, popcorn? never saw it!

Green Features: Thunderbird is a bronze Trip Advisor facility and did evidence a concern for environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I am sorry this was your experience. Consistency is a must. We are constantly working to improve our property. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your business. You can reach out to me at mark@thethunderbirdinn.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Location is great- easy walk into the historic district even though the road itself is unattractive and opposite the bus station. Staff were pleasant and a wide range if doughnuts, coffee/tea/juice available in the mornings. Room was spacious and clean with nice style features. And the outdoor music does eventually stop at 11! Not great if you want an early night though. Parking is $5/night. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

First the good... fun place and atmosphere, the bed was comfortable, the towels were nice and fluffly and everything was clean. The staff bent over backwards to be pleasant at check-in, and to help us with picking a tour. I thought the location was fine, one block off of the historic district. We came home late at night both nights, and felt perfectly safe.

Our only issue came with the Pet Friendly aspect of the hotel. I have dogs, but mine stay at home with family, not locked up in a hotel room while I am out having fun. Unfortunately, I can't say the same for the people in the next room. They had two little yippy dogs who barked NON STOP. The front desk tried to reach them, but they were out partying and didn't answer their phones. Ultimately, however, the hotel staff treated us well, and we were very happy with the resolution.

We would definitely stay again, we were happy with both the room and how we were treated by the staff!

Room Tip: If you travel without pets, you may wish to ask for a room away from someone who travels with them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank folgema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing