We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #43 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and l stayed at the Thunderbird and enjoyed the closeness of Savannahs historical district. The rooms were imaculate and what a friendly group of people in the office.Special thanks to Leslie, Stephanie and Hannah for their help in making sure we had a great time in Savannah. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    407
    171
    94
    59
See reviews for
235
473
64
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

As a frequent visitor to Savannah, I've stayed at several area hotels within the Historic District. I enjoy the Thunderbird because I'm getting a great room without overpaying for a comparable room elsewhere. It is dog-friendly which is fantastic as Savannah is a dog-loving town. A new more corporate type hotel was under construction during my last visit, which will only add to the security of the location, although I have never felt unsafe. I would suggest calling to make reservations as the single time I reserved online, the reservation did not go through, but again, the staff made certain a room was available for my family. Enjoy!

Room Tip: It is Savannah and near Savannah College of Art and Design, so at times, persons can be heard outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsFlorida33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Thunder Bird INN It's the hospitality!! We had 2 rooms at this hotel and stayed for 3 days. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We were staying with Girl Scouts and it is a great location to Downtown Savannah and Perfect walking distance to JGL House! The staff made sure we had enough towels, etc upon arrival. They were helpful with our questions and requests and we had a great time. If you are traveling with Girl Scouts or Kids or you have a sweet tooth this is the place for you! Moon Pies and Rc Cola await you in your room and Krispy Kreme Donuts for breakfast if you get a snack attack they pop fresh popcorn all day.(Sugar Attack for the Kids) The beds were comfortable, there is a fridge in the rooms. Heard no noise from the upstairs rooms or outside our room, the A/C is Awesome! Its a fun Hotel that I would stay in again and again! Hippest hotel in Savannah, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: get the interior rooms in the corner if possible you can get some traffic noise if you are in room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jflorida33912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Thunderbird was a great find for a weekend trip in Savannah. It's located in the historic district and for this location, the price can't be beat. Plus, the rooms are super clean and the beds very comfortable. And for an older hotel, it has been updated with style. Don't expect luxury, but do expect to be pleasantly surprised. We sure were.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. I just loved the retro feel of the Thunderbird Inn. After getting such a great price, I wasn't expecting too much. Much to my surprise, the hotel was in a good location and it was very clean. The staff was the best I have EVER come encounter with. Spencer was at the front desk when we checked in and he was so awesome! He gave me a map and told me the best way to get to where I needed to go. He certainly went above and beyond. The hotel provided krispy kreme donuts for breakfast and those are my favorite. :) The rooms are a little small, but I don't spend much time in the room, so it was fine for me and my 2 friends. The hotel was only a 10 minute walk to downtown Savannah and City Market. Very convenient since we didn't have to struggle looking for parking downtown. FYI, no pool.... Normally this would be a turn off for me but I got over it as I had plenty to do in Savannah! The bed was FABULOUS! It was really plush for a hotel bed, very comfortable. Thanks Thunderbird! I will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacqAsh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
300 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while doing Savannah and we totally enjoyed it. It was very easy walking to anywhere, the service was great, friendly, and very helpful. The room totally clean and smelled nice. The beds were perfect to sleep in. The bathroom was spotless as well. It was great free parking, just leave your car here and walk or take the trolley, just around the corner. The breakfast is simple, but they do bring in Krispy Kreme donuts and there was always plenty of them. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very helpful and personable staff. Great value, and just a few minutes walk to Riverfront and the Historic district. While the WiFi signal was very weak....it wasn't a deal breaker. I'll be back soon....I love this place !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#47 of 112 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites
#44 of 112 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing