We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alabama
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Retro but amazing. This is a trip in itself. The staff especially Peyton and Leslie could not have shown more hospitality. They were ready to help with all our questions on places to go and how to get there. The hotel was clean, the beds were really great and offered moon pies and popcorn anytime. A little bit of traffic noise at night until about 10:00pm but not enough to interfere with your sleep. Would definitely stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: This is a two story and all rooms face the same direction. We like the first floor because we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysgone60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! I do think you meant "Retro AND Amazing", thought! :)

I am pleased that you had great experiences with Peyton and Leslie! I hope you will return again!

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    583
    249
    123
    73
See reviews for
382
732
108
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,360 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The marketing is very smart as they tell you they are the Hippest Hotel in Savannah, so you are predisposed to like them even before you arrive.

On the outside it's a standard motel, with a fun paint job and funky signs. The inside is still a motel, but with nicer furnishings and cute little vintage touches like typewriters and moonpies.

If you are feeling lonely you can request George the Monkey to keep you company. He's a bit of a star and has his own Facebook page.

Breakfast is included and it's to be had in the lobby. Krispy Kreme donuts and coffee.

It's retro, fun and in an excellent location for walking into the downtown historic district.

If you are used to staying in chain hotels, mix it up a bit with this one and have some fun in Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us; e really appreciate it! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope the next time you're in Savannah you will stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Mines, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Listen this motel and staff were wonderful ...as from another country well up North and our first time in the deep south we were blessed here . Shana the front desk-person was so awesome connected us with everything we needed. Rooms comfortable cozy. I was doing ministry as a Pastor in GA and I can tell you this place and the workers there are a Blessing....I will go back when I return to Savannah. I would also recommend Ms Dot's chicken and waffles across the street just ask the front desk they will direct you.......thanks for making my stay there a Blessing Pastor Jo-Anne

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am trilled that Shana took great care of you! One cool thing about my staff is they know interesting places to eat.

I hope you will return!

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The outside of the Inn is a throwback to another time. The inside of our room was spacious and classy. Got our RC Colas and Moon-pies. Very fun detail. Was awakened at 11:30 p.m. the first night by the front desk claiming they needed me to verify my credit card. They read off part of it and asked me to "fill in the blank". Say what?! I said no, I would deal with it in the morning. Didn't sleep too well wondering who had portions of my credit card number. The next morning I spoke with the front desk who confirmed that someone did call my room. I told her that really pissed me off. And it scared me too. So, although the Thunderbird was cute, and the lemonade and popcorn at 2:30 are refreshing, I won't be back because of the credit card issue. That and the constant traffic on Oglethorpe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeySuz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review my inn! I hate that we upset you with the credit card issue. I agree that 11:30 is too late to be calling a room. They should have reached out to you sooner to clear up any issue we had. I sincerely apologize!

I do hope you will come back and give us another chance to fall in love!

stay hip!

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A lot of Savannah locals cringed when I told them my groomsmen and I were staying at the Thunderbird Inn, so I doubled down and got the honeymoon suite for my wife and I to stay in the night of our wedding. The Thunderbird team had some issues taking our block reservation, but Shana came through for us in the end. From the moment we checked in it was fun fun fun. We were perfect walking distance from City Market, the rooms are clean and easy, and we while the parking lot was fairly full, we always found a spot in the main lot and never had to use the overflow lot. We are a group of guys, and some wives came, but we never felt insecure, even walking back at 4 am.

The honeymoon suite was AWESOME with 'magic fingers' vibrating bed being a hilarious final touch for coming home exhausted after a long wedding day. My only complaint about the room is the low water pressure. It must have been a second floor issue or just that room, as the guys rooms downstairs did not have this issue at all.

We were able to have a photo shoot in the parking lot with a classic car which totally fit the motif. Everyone was cool until we revv'd the engine up at 10pm and shot flames out of the tailpipes...thats when a guest came out in his underwear and shouted at us - fair enough, we will do anything to avoid seeing grown men in tidy whities and wife beaters.

In the end, I'd recommend this place to anyone and all the locals ate their words. Peace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Love the review! Very fun. I am glad you had a great time. I hate that there was reservation issues. I hope you will come back "ease the tension" with our magic fingers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
616 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 696 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Thunderbird Inn four years ago while on a trip the the south east coast and liked it. We were heading back to the same general area so we stayed again. Although it is around $100 plus tax it is affordable for being right in the center of Savannah. I should say that although very central it is about two blocks to the historic center of the city. Another two or three blocks and you are at the tourist office or among the squares and old houses that you came to see. The staff can also help you with visiting questions and a map.
As many others have already stated it looks like a completely renovated motel that might go back to the 1950s and the music that pours out of the office still beats with the '50s. They do provide breakfast but it is only juice, coffee, and doughnuts. By the third morning I was longing for anything else to eat besides another donut or two.
One nice thing is the added joy of not needing a car in Savannah if you stay in the city. If you stay out of the city (at some more affordable chain motel) you then have to pay for parking. We just left our car for three days and walked and when we got tired of walking we hopped on the free trolley that makes a nice loop around the city. There should be one coming every twenty minutes.
Besides the breakfast there was a bit of noise at times. The bus station across the street was doing an addition and the first block on the way to the historic center had a building that was being built. Noisy but nothing dangerous about the neighborhood that some people commented on in TA posts.
Our room was very clean. The staff was very good.

Room Tip: There are two floors if that makes any difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Welcome back! I hope it won't be four years before your next return trip! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay again! All of the construction around us is scheduled to be complete by the end of August. It doesn't sound like it dampened your visit!

As an aside, the major noise is scheduled to be done by the end of the week!

I look forward to seeing you again!

regards,

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Don't miss this place. The most fun you could have. Walk to Old Town Trolley tour and a great city to see. A youthful kind of atmosphere, but it is really even better for seniors who still remember clearly the era that is celebrated here in this "motel:" the late '50s and early '60s. Hearing the Beach Boys, etc., in the office and out in the parking lot was a great treat.

Room Tip: A room near the office is great for seniors because parking is right in front of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! I am tickled you enjoyed your stay! I hope you will come back and visit us again!

regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing