We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a cool alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a cool alternative”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We found the Thunderbird a wonderful choice for a weekend stay. As lovely as the Savannah B&Bs are, this was a fun--and much more affordable alternative to them. Great location--easy walk to City Market, the Riverwalk and the Visitor's Center is right behind the hotel making it convenient to go pick out tours, souvenirs and visit two museums. Hotel staff was great. Krispy Kremes start your day with a smile!

Room Tip: second floor gives you great view of the bridge over the Savannah River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maman04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    583
    249
    123
    73
See reviews for
382
732
108
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Tracey at the front desk was SO helpful and nice! We will stay here again because his great service. Great location, easy to find and close to everything especially the bars on congress. Simple with great rates especially for a holiday weekend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I love when one of our fantastic staff members are mentioned by name! Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you will return; it gives us another opportunity to WOW you!

regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We arrived late (11pm) and were brightly greeted by the night manager ( Mickey?) who welcomed us so pleasantly. Even thought they were close to full he made the extra effort to make sure we parked in a safe spot and then went on to explain how they had Krispy Kreme donuts for breakfast.

Once we went to our room (which had gotten upgraded to a king bed!!!) we found a moonpie on the pillow and a cold RC Cola by the bed-stand. The room was clean but had that old style feel to it. I admit I was scared it might have some doggie smells since it is a pet friendly spot but no, it was fine.

We stayed 2 nights and found it to be very convenient walking distance to the hot spots (if you are ok with walking 7-10 blocks. Hey, I was pretty smashed Saturday night and made the walk from city market fine, heh)

Based on other reviews, I think people fail to know what they are coming to. This place is about a retro look and feel, with absolutely fantastic customer service. The daytime manager who greeted me each morning for breakfast was top notch. I needed direction to the bank and boom, a map with drawn x-marks-the-spot.

I will always stay here if I get this level of excellence. My biggest fear is that it become too well known and we won't be able to afford to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elvis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huber Heights
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We especially liked the popcorn and hot chocolate at the front desk. The location was a 5-10 minute walk from everything we wanted to do in Savannah. The rooms included moon pies and rc cola. Everything was clean and well maintained. The rooms were smaller than other places we stayed on our trip but were good enough for a couple of nights. Breakfast included Krispy Kreme doughnuts, juice and coffee.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am glad you liked the small the small details like the popcorn!

I hope you will return again soon!

regards,
Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The rooms here are basic, but when all you really need is a place to lay your head at the end of a busy day sightseeing, the Thunderbird more than fits the bill. The location is great for exploring the historic district, especially if you hop on the dot express shuttle at the nearby Visitors' Centre stop.
All the little touches make the Thunderbird much more than an average motel experience - the bags of popcorn at the front desk; the Moon Pies on the pillows; the hot chocolate at all hours. We took the hotel mascot - sock monkey George Monk - exploring with us for a day. Such a fun thing to do!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heres_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review! I am glad you enjoyed the small touches like the MoonPies and Popcorn!

Isn't George fun to take around? I hope you posted some pictures on his Facebook page?

regards,

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you are looking for luxury this is not the place for you BUT if you are looking for a clean, cute, friendly, reasonable, :) :) :)
Place to stay in Savannah...
THIS IS IT!!!!!
Shana and the rest of the staff are friendly helpfull. There is a doggie cookie jar at the front desk which made me lots of new fury friends in Savannah!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purebronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review! I love your pooch loved the doggie cookie jar! I am glad Shana did a great job! I hope you will tell your friends about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was disappointed based on all the great reviews. Our room was a stinky upon arrival - it was better once we got the heat/fan going to circulate the air. Overall, the room was OK, the bathroom could use some updating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wldtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am sorry that your room wasn't what you were expecting. We work very hard to keep all rooms fresh and inviting. My staff is aware of this review and will work with more focus on this! I hope you will come back again and see that we are constantly improving!

regards,

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing