We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Loved the overall idea of this hotel instead of trying to hide the dated look of the building they embraced it great price clean well kept everyone nice only down side is traffic noise I didn't mind we where getting up early anyway worked for my budget

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    471
    199
    105
    66
See reviews for
286
565
82
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Thunderbird is high on kitsch, service and value! The room is no frills, but quiet and clean, and the service was outstanding. There's tons of snacks throughout the day - coffee, donuts, popcorn, hot chocolate, and of course moonpies. The hotel is on the outskirts of historic Savannah, so be prepared to walk a bit to get in to see the squares, but the walk felt safe and was nice after enjoying heavy meals. If you're looking for a budget place, and plan on spending most of your time out and about, the Thunderbird is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leannems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Staff is very friendly and helpfull, welcom drink and bag of popcorn upon arrival. Sixties-like atmospher and decent walk to the city center. Thats the good part. Our room was dark and small, damp and funky smelling, loud music outside, slow or faltering wifi. Queen beds were too soft and too small (I’m only 185 cm). Its situated next to a quite busy street with a lot of noise at night and early morning. Breakfast is coffee and donuts. We booked for 2 nights, glad I could cancel the second night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucenElles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am sorry that we missed the bill for you. Our beds are an area that usually get rave reviews about. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy them. We replace them often to keep them at the best firmness.

Also, if the room was damp smelling, that to isn't normal. I will have the staff pay more attention to this so it is right moving forward.


regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I got there through Hotwire last minute downtown stay in Savannah: what an excellent surprise. Clean, funky rooms, friendly staff, great location with Moon Pies. Other motel customers were also nice. I saw couple's with dogs. Don't get wrong outside appearance...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Purchased a "hotwire" room in Savannah, GA and was sold the Thunderbird Inn. I didn't have time to research the Thunderbird so I didn't know for sure what I was getting since it was not a name brand property. Boy were we pleasantly surprised. I can't say enough good about this place. Once you open your car door to walk into the lobby to register, you are welcomed back to the 60's and 70's with music in the parking lot marking the retro theme of the hotel. The clerk was ver friendly, efficient and gave us a quick overview of the location of the hotel and how we could walk to almost anything, which was the case. The room was very comfortable, They had great coffee and Krispy Kreme pastry in the lobby for breakfast. We had stayed in Savannah before and paid triple the rate had 3 star property and we didn't enjoy near as much as we did here. It's definately a "motel" design, but very unique and fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psmouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good value for money, since we got a Hotwire "Hot rate". Room nice and clean with solo-coffee maker + supplies, shampoo, conditioner, body-wash and moisturizer supplied. Comfortable bed. Room a little noisy since it is quite near to a busy road + 2 lots of construction are nearby. Breakfast was Dunkin’ Donuts, coffee and juice. Convenient location, not far to walk to Historic Downtown. Can recommend “The Distillery” a 5 minute walk, with pub-grub and craft beers. Free wi-fi (slow) and free parking.

We had stopped her before and probably paid rack rate which was probably fairly good value then. Of course the Hotwire rate was super-budget.
A great stay for the price.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the first floor are slightly less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigCheeseOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Dear Travelers, This was mine and my three teenage boys first trip to Savannah. We wanted it to be special. Staying at the Thunderbird Inn was all we hoped for and more. The staff is so friendly and went out of their way to help our stay be the best! We wanted to take a ghost tour and they told us about all our options and even called and set it up for us. The tour came right to the hotel parking lot to pick us up!..... and the tour recommended was a lot of fun.
The rooms are very clean and the beds are so comfortable! My boys and I slept very well! We will look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing