We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #33 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We always stay at The Thunderbird Inn when we go to Savannah, GA. Great value. Great, friendly staff. Right in downtown Savannah, an easy walk to River Street. We stayed here during the Rock and Roll Savannah Marathon in 2011 and 2012. We love it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my fourth stay. I enjoy this motel quite a bit. The office staff is polite and friendly. The rates are great, especially if you book on line. The rooms are clean, and the beds are comfortable. What you pay for is exactly what you get. You need to check in early, because finding a parking spot can be difficult. The Historic District is within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Book on line and request a downstairs room, otherwise you have to lug your stuff upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent inn for the price! Clean, friendly stuff, FREE breakfast (Krispy Kreme's donuts and a variety of coffee, tea, juice, and syrups), very close to the Trolley tours (around the corner), and to the River View street. My wife and I are happy and satisfied! A+++

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sm7x7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Extremely friendly & helpful staff. Great rate, in walking distance to restaurants, pubs, shops etc. Very clean. Love the colors, style and design. Fun place! My husband and I spent 4 nights. No complaints! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank RocksieStardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Here's what I found in my 2-day stay and encounter with 4 of the personnel: constantly friendly and helpful with follow-up by Mike and Shana to be sure my requests were meant. The room was clean and loaded with extras--ironing board, iron, refrigerator, well modulated and easily controllable heat/AC, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair drier, Kleenex dispenser, comfortable beds, phone, radio, TV, good lighting wherever it was needed, easily operable and perfectly functional shower/bath, wall dispensers in shower for shampoo, shower gel and conditioner with large print for my faded eyes, proximity to tours and to historic section.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

OK, sure, let's get this out of the way...this is not a luxury hotel. It is old and has small bathrooms. BUT, what it does have is some of the friendliest, most helpful, most enthusiastic staff that I have ever encountered, even at 5 star resorts.
The location is ideal for exploring the city. A 10 minute walk will get you just about anywhere. I would definitely stay here again, no problems at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annabellesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel had the comfort level of a $70 room, so I was disappointed by the value. The only thing they are reputable for is the retro style of the hotel, which didnt do much for me. The staff is warm and friendly, but the beds in my room were older and sank to the middle, the sheets didnt fit properly, the blanket was all lumpy on one side from use, and I didnt like the soaps. I think the things that really count in a hotel stay are quality of sleep, cleanliness, and comfort, and I didnt feel rested or comfortable. The pet fee is $50, which I think is waaay overpriced, and therefore did not bring our dog. It is unfortunately one of the cheaper hotels in the downtown area, which is the only reason we stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rantag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

I hate that you had such a bad experience. I wish I would have known while you were intown. If you would like to talk about it I can be reached at mark@thethunderbirdinn.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#28 of 114 in Savannah
511 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $150 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing