We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #9 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Parkview room. The room was clean and comfortable. However, the street noise was very loud. if you want some rest, stay away from this room. The location is a 10 minute walk from the main part of town. If you don't mind the walk, there are many historic squares to wander through on the way. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average and ours was not hot, as if it had been sitting for a while. Coffee was fair. I would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Lovely b&b. Clean, great breakfasts, friendly staff. The Parlor Room was very nice and large by B&B standards. Dining room was lovely and we had a choice of sitting with others or alone at one of the smaller tables. More of a walk to attractions than most people may like, but we're walkers, so we didn't mind it at all. We felt safe while even walking at night.

Room Tip: We had the parlor room which was large by b&b standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sueanny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This by far is one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in! It is centrally located in Historic Savannah, walking distance from most everything you would ever want to do. The accommodations were excellent, the staff very good as well. I've read other reviews complaining about the parking; that was not the case for us. We parked in front of our room and left several times and returned to the same close spaces. Overall a GREAT experience!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Inn was as advertised, rustic, staff was friendly. Our first time to savannah it was a bigger version than Saint Augustine where we live. This inn is over priced where it is located we walked 14 blocks to get near any entertainment. They say free parking but there isnt any we had to park blocks from the inn and walk more. Like I said the inn itself was nice but poor location. Stay near river st thats where the actions at.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dmdm52006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_McAlister, Owner at Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Firstly thank you for choosing the Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn for your recent trip to Savannah. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our location. We state on our website that River Street is the furthest attraction on foot i.e. 20 minute walk from us. Conversely we are well located for Forsyth Park and the historic homes and museums of Savannah such as Mercer House and the Massie Heritage Center which are on our doorstep. I am sorry if you overlooked the page with attractions and walking distances which may have led you to book at an inn or hotel up by the hustle and bustle of River Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This B&B is well-located and proved to be a good start to a long weekend in Savannah (they didn't have availability for the rest of the weekend). They were able to accommodate a late arrival (the phone they mentioned leaving for us takes a bit of looking to find, which in retrospect is a good thing). The breakfast was very good; the sweet option also comes with grits, so if you like or want to try grits you can have it without having to give up the sweet option. We are glad to recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathanael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable, great location, delicious breakfasts. One block from Forsyth Park and a few over from Mrs. Wilkes'. I had an early departure and Mark and the staff were very accomodating. Thank you all for your hospitality. I will return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirtoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The inn is beautiful and the location is great, the breakfast was really good as well. The walls are thin because it is a home, the people in the room next to ours keep their TV on all night long. With no phone in our room the Turkish Room, (which was beautiful) we had to knock on the door, and the woman didn't say a thing, but she did turn it down. The second night same thing, however we did not knock on the door just didn't sleep well. We had told management the first morning, but nothing was done so we checked out a day early. A shame too cause it was a really nice place. Sure wish people would remember when staying in B&B's your not at home even though it feels like it.

Room Tip: Take a back cottage or make sure you have a phone in the room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_McAlister, Owner at Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

I would like to thank you for choosing the Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn on your recent trip to Savannah. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the location and homemade cooking but am sorry that you did not sleep well. Having personally looked into the matter I believe the problem is with the television being placed right below the vent. I believe hanging the TV on the wall away from the vent should improve matters. I appreciate you taking the time to point this out and I do hope this will not deter you from visiting us again on your next trip to Savannah.

Best Wishes,

Bob McAlister
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,858 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,460 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#1 of 30 in Savannah
233 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#11 of 30 in Savannah
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 121 W Gordon St, Chatham Square, Savannah, GA 31401-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $182 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn is in a charming residential area of the historic district. Dating from 1853, the Inn is a block away from the splendor of Forsyth Park. Our historic inn is nestled in Gordon Row just off Chatham Square providing guests with a historic home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Bed And Breakfast Inn
Savannah Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing