We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, food, service/staff and value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Great location, food, service/staff and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this charming 1853 B&B. We found everyone of the staff very helpful, kind and ready to be of service in any way they could. We stayed in a carriage house room that was roomy, nicely decorated and very clean. The owners are convivial and occasionally would sit down with the guests to join them for breakfast sharing the history of Savannah and the B&B itself. The location is in the heart of the historic district on Chatham Square. They serve tea in the afternoon and cookies & milk for their guests to enjoy every evening.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarKrazy85255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    258
    87
    26
    20
See reviews for
112
573
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in june, and we both loved the city, the locals, the guest house and the staff... and as for the breakfast - WOW!

Can't really say much more, but if you have a special someone that deserves a romantic break, i can't think of anywhere better!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DangerDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Love the location as its near the Forsyth park.....far from the riverfront but that means you walk off what you ate........Front desk Joey and Pam are helpful however on our last day there was this old white lady Paula who seems to be reluctant in dealing with people.......people remember the last thing they experience......it leaves a bad taste to the mouth.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed here two nights on the 'manager's special. Allocated to the library room, on the second floor. Don't stay here if you can't lift your suitcase, there are no lifts and the stairs are steep! The pillows are apparently new; they are thick and hard and gave me a cricked neck. Bring your own if you like soft, they don't provide a choice. Other people commented on the noise in this room, I didn't really hear any. But I am VERY glad we didn't get allocated a room on the patio/balcony - that would be very noisy.

The staff provide bakery in the afternoon and cookies before bed, which is nice. Breakfast was dull, muffin with bacon one morning and pancakes the next. OK but nothing to write home about.

Friendly helpful staff for sightseeing and restaurant queries, although my request for a different pilow was met with a shrug.

Great location near Forsyth Park.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

We enjoyed our stay, but it certainly wasn’t ideal. We spent two nights here on a swing through the south. It was a pleasant stay for the price so I would certainly recommend it – but I would not recommend staying here with great expectations.
We were welcomed with tea and brownies which was a nice start [it was only served on our first day – it’s not provided on weekends]. Our host gave us some great advice on finding a place to eat considering we were going to be heading into town without a reservation.
The Inn is nicely located near Forsyth Park – an easy stroll down to the riverfront, but make sure you include the necessary time for the walks in your schedule.
Breakfast the next two days, while tasty and served with a smile, was uninspired. Scrambled eggs with a biscuit [bisquick?], and a slice of bacon; pancakes with a piece of sausage. We ended up sitting at a table for two so we were unable to enjoy the company of our fellow travelers, often a plus when staying at a B&B.
The room was a little disappointing – beautifully furnished, but it looked like it hadn’t been dusted in over a week [we were on the top floor and assumed management didn’t make the trip up there on a regular basis]. The only room service done in the room while we were there was emptying of the trash, no beds made, no linens folded, etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIPetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We booked the Jasmine room because we wanted to be near the garden. What the room description doesn't explain is that there are tables for eating and relaxing RIGHT outside the windows of the room. This means that people are eating breakfast, smoking, talking on cell phones on the other side of the window. Hence the blinds were always closed and we were up early listening to people having breakfast. It is a very nice Inn but we were disappointed in all of the noise outside of our room.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumpinjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We are so happy to have found this B&B. I'm sure it will become our regular spot when we visit Savannah. We reserved the "manager's special" online and got a great deal. For less than the cost of a "budget" room at the inn, they put you in the nicest room they have available for the night. The only catch is that you don't know what room you get until you arrive, and they may move you to a different room on different nights. If you aren't picky about what room you get, this is a great option.

Our first night, we stayed in the Cottage On The Lane. It is just behind the main buildings in what I'm guessing was originally a carriage house. The "Lane" isn't quite as picturesque as it sounds, but the Cottage was awesome. The first floor had a sitting room, kitchen, and small dining room. The upstairs had the bedroom, bathroom, and large closet. We loved the paintings on the walls and the giant bed with a beautiful carved headboard. The cottage was extremely private - a great place to stay for longer visits to the city. It would be nice if they could spruce up the courtyard outside just a little bit, but otherwise no complaints.

Our second night they moved us to the Azalea room. (We just turned in our key in the morning, and picked up the key for the new room when we came back in the afternoon. They moved all our luggage to the new room and it was waiting for us when we arrived.) This room is in the building a couple doors down from the main in, on the second floor. I was sad to leave the Cottage on the Lane, but liked this room just as well! It had two bedrooms with queen sized beds, a nice sitting area, and bathroom. One of the bedrooms had two exposed brick walls and the other had a decorative fireplace. The bed was super comfortable and the room was very quiet. The only thing to watch for is the bed in the first room - the pretty carved legs are easy to stub a toe on.

Breakfast was great both mornings. We sat on the porch behind the main dining room and never had to wait. I read on other reviews that the afternoon snacks/evening cookies ran out, but we never had a problem with that. They always seemed to have a tasty treat out when we stopped by. The staff was very helpful and nice and offered great recommendations for places to eat nearby.

Parking is on the street. When we checked in, they gave us a quick overview of the street-cleaning schedule so we would be sure not to park anywhere we could get ticketed. We didn't have any trouble finding a close spot, but I imagine during certain times of the year it could be a hassle. Since the meters aren't checked on the weekends, we didn't have to bother with them. I know they have some system for feeding the meters for you during the week, but I'm not exactly sure how it works.

Overall, I thought it was a great place to stay in Savannah, and a really great value. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvillegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 121 W Gordon St, Chatham Square, Savannah, GA 31401-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's Premier Bed & Breakfast Inn is in the heart of the historic district. Dating from 1853, the Inn is a block away from the splendor of Forsyth Park. The Inn combines the elegance of a historic private home with the comfort of a gracious inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing