We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so”
Review of Uncle Bubba's Oyster House - CLOSED

Uncle Bubba's Oyster House
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“So-so”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I came here for lunch. The food was just average. I was not impressed considering all of the publicity this restaurant receives. I had the chargrilled oysters and those were really good! The lunch fish was chewy and over battered, so was the fried pickles. The service was pretty good, but the bar tender was serving, which took a lot of his time waiting tables and making drinks. I do not plan on returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joycelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    285
    198
    166
    169
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scottsville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
“Great food and service!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our second time going to Uncle Bubba's in Savannah. The food was great! All of the seafood was fresh and tasted good! We were there for lunch so we ordered from the lunch menu. The lunch portion is more than what we could eat so we were able to take some back to our condo for later. We got a piece of pecan pie to go which was AMAZING! Our waitress, Sidraya, was like a breath of fresh air. She is so friendly and makes you feel right at home. She went out of her way to serve us.....probably the best waitress I've come across in quite awhile!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcbugmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Dinner”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The chargrilled oysters were very good the service was great! Josh was my server and was very attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss Uncle Bubba's”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stopped in UBOH this past week on our travels from Tybee Island. The place is set in a nice area with good decor. The service was excellent - from the hostess to the man bringing our food! Our server, Sidraya, was a hoot! She was personable and pleasant. We appreciate the fact that she could speak of the food from experience as she's had it all. We tried Cajun food, American, the salad bar and desserts. The key lime pie was excellent! Highly recommended stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“great view from back room, try the key lime pie”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

family had been here and said it was great so we went back with them this weekend. our waitress did her best to keep up with our party, but it took forever to get our food! It was Saturday and we had reservation for the all you can eat seafood bar. Only one in our party had the bar as the rest of us could not eat enought to justify the 32.00 The bar was country food, and cold bar was raw oysters, fried shrimps and crablegs. my nephew was in heaven and for sure got his 32.00 worth. I felt on the other hand my families food was overcooked. The grilled scallops were over done, the blacked scallops were tasty but also over cooked, i had chargrilled oysters and while the flavor was very good and oysters were very large also overcooked. the she crab stew was awesome but very very rich do not order a bowl as it would be too much for a party of 10! I felt food was kinda expensive but it is seafood and we were sitting on a very pretty marsh so i let it go, if I come back it will be to drink and maybe raw oysters... do not miss the key lime pie through the absolute highlight of my night!!!! they were closing as we were leaving but had just made fresh coffee I could smell it, I wished they had made that sooner I know I would have bought a cup.. it smelled delish

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cinibun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Bubba's Oyster House also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing