We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bob and Sue's stay in Savnnah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #25 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Excellent hotel in the centre of all thats happening in Savannah. Staff gave us great tips on where to eat and what to see. breakfast was great. Recommend this hotel but be aware the parking is $25 per day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank flamerisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

I share the reviews that rate this hotel as just ok. The valets were so friendly and helpful, but the front desk not so much. Our room was just average, and advertised as two queen beds we found it contained two double beds instead. The carpet around the air conditioner was wet; apparently the air conditioner was leaking. As we had misplaced something, we had occasion to look under the beds and I must say - disappointing for a Hilton property - it is clear there had been no cleaning there for some time. I am assuming the location is the main reason for the price but this is not the best Garden Inn I've stayed in and those were less expensive. Although I am a Hilton Honors member I was not offered breakfast and it costs $14.95 - so we did not eat there. All in all, you could do a lot worse in other hotels, but I expected more for a Hilton.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments Susan. We are so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We can assure you though that the beds in our 2 Queen room are queen beds. We do not have any rooms at our property with double beds. We are also sorry that the area around the air conditioner was wet during your stay. We've had our maintenance department inspect the unit and it appears the condensation from the unit was dripping onto the carpet. We can assure you this has been addressed and cleaned. Thank you for bringing that to our attention so we can ensure future guests do not have a similar experience. We hope you will give our property a second chance to showcase it's excellent service and value on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The room was clean. The breakfast was average But the construction above my room in the evening and morning hours was too much. There was no free handicap parking, it cost me $25 a day to park. The internet did not work in my room. The hotel is in a good place for dining, sight seeing, and traveling onto and off the interstate. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Roy, thank you for your feedback. While we are glad to hear you found the room to be clean and convenient for dining, sight seeing and traveling to and from the interstate, we are sorry to hear that you would not choose to stay with us again in the future. We sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced and hope that you would consider giving us another opportunity to showcase the property to you next time you find yourself in Savannah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Even though we loved Savannah we did not feel that "WOW" factor. The room was just average, the bedding looked old and dingy. There was no safe in the room and we are not fans of valet parking. I will say the hospitality was excellent. Because this was a Hilton Hotel we just expected more. It wasn't terrible, it was just average.

Room Tip: If staying at this hotel, make sure you stay on the pool side. We did not make this request. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LTG920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We've stayed several times at the interstate, which is fine, and twice in the mid-town area, but this location is just perfect. We love Savannah, especially River Street and the City Market. The hotel is one block or less from each! We stayed in July on our way to N.C. and then returned in August on the way home to Florida. We will stay there again, I'm sure!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank StPeteNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently stayed here for a family reunion. The hotel is well situated on the corner of Bay St. and MLK Jr. It is within walking distance of just about everything. The market area is located directly behind the hotel. You will find a plethora of restaurants and artist shops here. Check out Mr. Alix Baptiste while you are there and pick up a few items. He has some very lovely work at a reasonable cost. River St. is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Now the pros and cons of this hotel: It is easier for me to list them numerically.
Cons
1. The valet parking area is very poorly designed. There isn't enough room to pull up and unload you vehicle while another car pulls in to be parked. They can really fit 3 cars at once in the driveway area. So if someone pulls in ahead of you that needs to unload and you would like to be valet parked well, you car must sit until the car unloading moves. Depending on how long this takes the street out front may become very congested. Forget retrieving your car on a busy day. I must applaud the young men with their ability to remember the guest without prompts. I never really waited that long for someone to take the car.
2. The check-in was initially cold. The receptionist at the desk when we checked in was very reserved and unwelcoming. I thought she was having a very bad day. The lobby was average. There was nothing spectacular about the lobby area to make it memorable.
3. I reserved a suite and was disappointed with the size. The room seemed small for a suite. I did not feel it was worth the extra money.
4. The fitness center was small. There is only 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical and 1 stationary bike. There is also a small universal.
Pros
1. Location, Location, Location
2. The rooms were clean.
3. The room attendant was very good. Thank you.
4. The breakfast (although it is $14.95) is pretty good.
5. Selena Gibbons at the front desk will always greet you with a smile and bring on to your face as well. She is the best hotel receptionist that I have ever met.

All in all I would stay here again but with a few changes to my stay.

Room Tip: Although a suite provides additional sleeping space because of the sofabed, it really is not worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank southerncalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Our family of three had just finished a wonderful, week long cruise and drove to Savannah for an overnight stay before we headed back to Virginia. When we drove up to the hotel we were quickly greeted by a valet and I went inside to check us in. The ladies at the counter couldn't have been friendlier and they gave us a great room on the 6th floor at the end of the hall. The room was very spacious and nice and clean. We also had a good view of the river.
My husband found the blackout curtains located behind the shears so we didn't have to be awakened by the sun the next day and we enjoyed watching the large flat screen tv until it was time for sleep.
The beds were comfortable and we left the fan on all night for noise. Since this hotel is right in the historic district, it stays quite busy but we slept well and were ready for our day of traveling.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to stay in the heart of the historic district.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetovacatioN35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $137 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing