We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #28 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Augustine, United States
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel was exceptional in cleanliness and service. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. There was always fresh lemonade and hot coffee in the lobby. We had a "sisters" vacation, four of us. Our accommodations were even changed to an adjoining room situation to make our stay easier and more fun. The beds were soooo comfortable too. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    525
    205
    100
    50
See reviews for
368
694
56
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great value for a business traveller. Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. No problems at all, and an extremely comfortable bed and room. Very fast internet. right next door to the MarketPlace and the Waterfront, ideally located.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank jonnyep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The room was nice but literally a few feet away from the traffic noise on West Bay Street. There were many large 18-wheeler trucks during the overnight which made it difficult for consistent sleep. Just a little annoying when I just wanted good sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Darrell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We’re glad you enjoyed your guestroom and do apologize if it was noisy during your stay. The hotels in the Historic District can have more city noise than a less active part of town. We would like to let you know that in order to ensure our guests are comfortable, we always have ear plugs available at the Front Desk. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckingham, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Right in the center of every thing. The on site concierge was great in letting us know the beat places to eat. The free coffee and cookies where a nice treat to come back to each night. The bed was so comfortable almost didn't want to leave the room at all .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A great location in the historic district, within a few minutes walk of many things. City Market is a short block away, and most of Savannah's nightlife is on this (west) end of the historic district (making it the perfect base for going out). The riverfront walkway is 1-2 minutes away. We found the location very convenient.

We're frequent travelers, but this was my first Hilton Garden Inn-- we're usually more Hampton Inn people. The room was a little smaller than Hampton's standard, but had a microwave and fridge. The bed was a little too firm and the bedding a little coarse, but all adequate. There are enough pillows (4 per bed), and the bathroom products are Neutrogena. The decor is generic-modern.

Internet was reasonably speedy (a little slower during evening hours when more people are presumably online), and the wifi signal strength was good. Room-darkening curtains did a good job, making for a restful night's sleep. I didn't really hear any of our neighbors despite being told the hotel was fully booked during our stay. All making for a comfortable stay.

We didn't use the HGI restaurant-- the people complaining about the breakfast in the hotel are silly, they're staying mere minutes from a number of interesting, local eateries. Why come to Savannah and not eat in Savannah??

There's always coffee in the lobby (though not freshly made at night), as well as sweet lemonade and hot water for tea, with oatmeal cookie bars in the afternoons-- a minor thing, but pleasant. The room has a pod-based coffee maker with a reasonable medium roast coffee.

Parking is expensive, as it is at the other hotels we checked in the historic district, but if you're not planning to take your car out, there are nearby parking lots/garages for cheaper than HGI's $18/night. But, the valet parking is useful if you plan to do in-out for excursions.

Our 4th story window had a view (barely) of the river, and passing ships. Top floor should have a decent river view. Bay Street does see a lot of truck traffic, but we didn't really notice the noise from the room.

Prices at this property varied dramatically over the month or so I paid attention, keep checking back if you find it expensive. There are also several other Hilton properties nearby (Doubletree is literally next door) if you are are Hilton-loyal but flexible in which brand you'll stay in.

My only (minor) complaints were not having a more plush bed, and the lack of a HDMI input on the TV in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, ON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on Sat and Sunday nights in late October. Staff, valets, rooms all very good. Would ask for room on river side next time. Partiers were pretty loud from city market area until early Sunday morning. Close to everything that we went to Savannah for.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KenASt_Catharines_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Where to start. Had what I thought was two nights in the Historic District via hotels.com. Upon check in it turns out that they had me there in 2014; I evidently hit the wrong year! Long story short but hotel was 100% full and hotels.com had nothing in the Historic District.

Decided to call Hilton honors # and somehow they put me through to Selena at the front desk and this angel of mercy got me a nice clean room at a good price, considering it was a weekend.

Selena, and all the staff I encountered were great. Hotel and rooms are very clean; outstanding location.

There is a parking garage about 3 blocks away for $5 per night if you dont want to pay the $18 per night parking fee.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhbartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving your review. We are so happy that Selina was able to assist you with your recent stay and get you all a room here in Savannah. Thank you again for leaving us a 5-star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing