We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Perfect location in the historic district!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #25 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect location in the historic district!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated between River Street and City Market - just a couple minutes walk to each! The hotel parking is $18 a day, $25 on special occasions. Save your money and park in one of the many nearby parking garages. The one we used on Jefferson Street was only $3 on weekends and $12 on weekdays. We never even used the car anyway - there's so much to do within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is nice - rooms are not the newest but are clean and the beds are the typically comfortable Hilton/Hampton style. Our room had a fridge and microwave and two queen beds. Our balcony overlooked the pool and City Market (opposite from Bay St) and was very quiet at night. Check-in was quick and friendly. The concierge helped us with dinner reservations and the Hearse Ghost Tour (highly recommended!). There's a restaurant and bar, but the breakfast at Goose Feathers is better. We will definitely stay at this Hilton Garden Inn on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the City Market side are quieter than Bay St side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCFamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    447
    178
    85
    38
See reviews for
308
577
52
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As mentioned by others, this hotel is located across a street from city market, and to the other side, river walk. these are 2 areas chock full of live music, restaurants, bars, and stores. Everything is very walkable and safe. As for the hotel, the breakfast is table service and elegant, and included, which is awesome. They have made to order omelettes, pancakes, grits, biscuits, cereal, etc etc. The room we had was not a suite, which is too bad. It was very pricey, >$300, for pretty much a standard room. The noise from Bay Street is noticeable - bring a fan or some white noise. Internet is quick. Service is very good throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Bring a fan to mask the noise from outside. Room 331 is directly outside the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuiteLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had 2 families to stay in this hotel this week for the Spring Break. We had a large party and the hotel was very accomadating. Rooms were Clean, great breakfast and awsome staff!! The hotel is in a great location, the heart of the historic district. You will be able to walk to many sites.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Turnerl3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here one night and two in a bed and breakfast. The stay here was as wonderful as that in the bed and breakfast, which surprised me. The location is superb for Old Town Savannah. Rather than eat in the hotel we took a little walk to River Street and had breakfast while enjoying the view of the Savannah River. The room was well decorated, the window views were wonderful, and the staff was very professional. The bed was very comfortable too. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjg1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is in a good location in historic Savannah, and has a nice staff, and pleasant rooms with high ceilings. But you’re out of luck if you want a good night's sleep when your room faces West Bay Street. Sirens, trucks, motorcycles – they all sound like they’re in the room with you. The staff moved us to a different room for our second night, which was great.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing W. Bay Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytravels703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent the long St. Patrick's Day weekend in Savannah this year and this hotel was pretty much perfect for our needs. The location is central and in easy walking distance of the entire historic district and riverfront. The room was well equipped to serve all of our needs. The staff was engaged to our needs and consistently friendly. The only negative was the (unadvertised) $25 per day to valet park (no hotel self park option), which also required a lot of patience to navigate due to the restricted space layout of the entrance and exit. Considering the craziness of St. Paddy's weekend in Savannah, this property and it's staff was excellent and I wholeheartedly recommend it for a great tourist adventure in Savannah!

Room Tip: East side rooms have a view of the riverfront, west side rooms of the City Market area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We called ahead looking for a nice place with a good rate for the 3 of us, it was raining and we had driven over 12 hours. I talked with Pat the hotel manager and he fixed us up really nice, gave us breakfast and parking. He had a great personallity and put up with me, they call me Grummpy lots. He was great, the service and rooms were great and breakfast was wonderful. I would enjoy staying at any hotel Pat managed. Try it out.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want, we wanted a view, and wonderful beds and we got it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdillard44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 112 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing