We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Home away from Home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #28 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My New Home away from Home.”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Having traveled around the world I am accustomed to fine service and also know poor service as well. The entire staff, from the Valet to the front desk were exceptional bar none. Everyone could not have made us feel more welcome. Our location was fantastic and safe. Our room was a King suite which we were upgraded too upon check in. The biggest asset this Hotel has ia an exceptional concierge named Pam from Old Savannah Tours (912) 234-8128. This tour gave us a great tour with lots of info about the historic district. Do this first prior to walking around on your own. Once you park the car, walking is what you will be doing. Pam, suggested restaurants and made reservations for us. Gerabaldi's, which is around the corner was outstanding!. It was my Birthday so we wanted somewhere specal to go. The next night was Vic's on the water a few short blocks away again, amazing. Goose feathers for breakfast completed our eating. Had breakfast here twice!!!! Savannah is amazing on its own. The staff at the Hilton Garden Inn made this one of the most enjoyable stays ever! Will never stay anywhere else in Savannah.
Thank You,
Jamie K.

Room Tip: 5th floor Facing the river is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie121660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    525
    205
    100
    50
See reviews for
368
694
56
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We enjoyed our week long stay at this hotel. The staff was mostly accommodating, friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. I would probably have given it an "excellent" review except for a couple of things. One evening when I wasn't feeling well I went downstairs and ordered soup and a sandwich. I waited about 50 minutes for that to arrive from the Hilton across the street.
After leaving Savannah I realize I have lost my address book and a golf shirt. I have tried 5-6 times to reach someone to talk to about this, but all I ever get is an answering machine that promises to call me back. No call in a week. So I am disappointed in these two parts of the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are pleased you chose to stay with us during your week long vacation. We’re sorry to hear you weren't feeling well and had to wait for your room service. This is out of character for the hotel and your remarks have been given to our managers for continued improvement. Regarding your lost items, we deeply apologize someone has not contacted you back. Please call the front desk of the hotel at 912-721-5000 and ask to speak to Paul our General Manager. He is awaiting your call and is ready to assist. We hope you will return to stay with us for a improved experience.

Best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first time to stay in the Historic District of Savannah, and we liked it real good. All employees were of the highest caliber, and yet one person stood out from the rest, Antwuan, our valet attendant. He met us at the door when we arrived with a huge smile, which he seemed to wear continuously, and genuinely, as we found out from experience throughout the next few days. But the very first time we came down to retrieve our car, Antwuan greeted us warmly by name, and ran, yes ran to get our car. :) I've been in business for over 35 years now, and when you find someone who treats people the way this young man does....You keep them, and take care of them. Thanks Antwuan, for making this part of the trip memorable, Thanks Hilton Garden Inn. PJ
ps. All of the men working in Valet, were very polite, and courteous. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allthebaers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a fifth floor room facing City Market. It was easily the noisiest hotel room I have ever stayed in. My husband and I always choose Hilton Hotels for their quality, and this stay was quite surprising. Not only could you hear every word sung from the Karaoke bar across the street until 2AM, but you could hear cars driving by all night, as well as people's conversations on the street. I actually got up three separate times to make sure our windows were closed thinking something had to be open, but alas, it was just poor insulation. I finally called the reception desk for help, and she simply said she couldn't do anything about it. There was never an offer to move to a different room even though the hotel was quite empty. Thankfully we didn't have any kids with us, but I certainly would not recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with children, and would suggest requesting a room facing Bay St., not City Market.

My cousin was travelling with us and had a room with her son on the other side of the hotel. She didn't experience the noise problems we did, however her window was level with the pool deck and didn't have any blackout curtains. It wasn't an issue in November, however she said if it had been pool season, she would have requested to be moved to a private room.

Additionally the price of parking when I booked the hotel said $15, but when we got there we were informed it was $18, even though we showed the confirmation that said $15.

Finally, I booked the room with a discount code on the website. When we checked out the next day, they charged full price. I asked about it, and she said if I had the confirmation with the price of the room they could grant it. However, the confirmation I received only had dates with no prices, and I even showed this to her to which she just stared at me blankly and said "I don't know what to do." I finally gave up because it wasn't worth arguing about. All in all this was a VERY disappointing stay. Even more disappointing was that I tried to address these issues with the manager directly, but cannot locate any contact information other than the reception desk. We will be staying at a different Hilton on our next trip to Savannah!

Room Tip: Request a room facing Bay St. City Market gets very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your loyalty to Hilton and choosing to stay with us while in Savannah. We deeply apologize for the shortcomings during your stay and we can assure you that these experiences are out of character for the hotel and our staff. Please know that all the rooms have blackout curtains and all email confirmations from Hilton provide the rate paid on the confirmation. We do not change the rates at the Front Desk therefore what you were charged is what was booked online. We apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us and we hope to provide you with a more characteristic stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUTZ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel and were greeted by our valet, Antwuan we were impressed with this hotel. When we arrived, our room was not ready so Savanna offered to store our belongings in the back office so we could explore the city. The hotel is a very short walk to both City Market and River Street.
The lobby was decorated for Christmas and was very charming with the lit fireplace and beautiful tree. Every employee we came in contact with on our stay was super friendly.
Our room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable.
We had breakfast the following morning in the restaurant and our server Nelson was fantastic. We did not have to ask for anything. Try the eggs benedict!
We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Couple022512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After my stay here in September, I returned with my daughter for Thanksgiving. Another great stay...front desk staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Only downside was the breakfast on Friday morning. My daughter was very frustrated that her omelet was runny when she specifically requested well done. Service could have been better because there weren't that many guests. Would still stay here again, though.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We hope you and your daughter had a great Thanksgiving and thank you for staying with us again. We apologize you didn’t have an excellent time at breakfast and hope you will come back to dine with us again for more characteristic experience. Thank you for being loyal guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location. Walk out the side door and you are on the corner of City Market. Walk out the front door and you are a couple blocks from the River Front. What I loved about the hotel is that they had a bar. Another nice touch is the book of restaurant menus in the lobby. Having a concierge is nice, too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing