We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why is this hotel only number 37?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #28 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Why is this hotel only number 37?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

A good hotel with a great located swimming pool. Was going to stay in the Avia but their pool only gets sun up to lunch time so if you are visiting the city and want to catch some late sun, no good. Hence moving on to the Hilton Garden Inn. It is technically on the edge of the historic district but still close and walkable to all restaurants. If a pool's important to you, choose this, good breakfast as well. Don't forget your AA card if coming from the UK because you get 10% discount.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    516
    203
    95
    49
See reviews for
366
682
55
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Overall, the hotel is of a good quality and a it's in a great location, but a little expensive. They charge for parking on top of a fairly high room rate, and I was surprised that there was no continental breakfast! Oh well, I might stay here again, but would check around for a cheaper price first.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heath15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

All of the staff at this hotel were extremely nice and very accomodating. Anything we asked for they complied with a smile and got right on it. This hotel also has a concierge that helped us plan sightseeing trips, etc. It was just an all around great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipley, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

For the cost of a room at this hotel you would thing some things would be complimentary but No not even a continental breakfast. Its a nice hotel and the room was nice but it wasnt fabulous. The view was great we had a 6th floor balcony room facing the river and I really enjoyed the view. We were on a motorcycle and wanted to park in the parking garage, needless to say the valet wanted no part of parking the bike for us and we were fine with that. But still, $15.00 for parking a motorcycle which we parked? Later in the afternoon we left and went to Tybee Island and when we got back we got a run around about the parking and my husband had to complain to the front desk about it. We are paying extra for it so by Gosh we are gonna park the darn bike there! We had little to no interaction with the staff, the consierge was nice and got us set up with the tours we wanted.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcpcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011. We were so excited to be in Savannah that immediately after checking in we dropped our bags in the room and headed to The Lady and Sons for dinner. Which was great. Upon returning to the room it became clear to me that we had not been put in a non-smoking room as was requested when I made the reservation. (Which I booked directly with Hilton). I called down to the front desk and was told by Chris that he would call us back shortly. However, there was no way that I could stay in the room so we picked up our bags and headed to reception. After a brief wait we were given keys a non-smoking room on one of the properties non-smoking floors. I noted this option for any future visits. Chris was great. He addressed our concerns and fixed the issue ASAP. Great customer service, thanks!
We had breakfast at the hotel Saturday morning before heading out to the River Walk and to explore the sites of Savannah. The buffet was fine, nothing special but adequate. One of the servers made a waffle for me when I was stumped by the waffle iron and then she delivered it to my table. Again, great customer service. 
The concierge was very helpful. She helped us find the things we wanted to see and made meaningful suggestions for other things we might enjoy. 
Our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn didn't start out perfectly but that was corrected then more than made up for by the thoughtful and courteous staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Savannah. It is within walking distance to many of the cities best attractions and the valet service makes parking a breeze.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tearitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at the Hilton in Savannah. The suite was nice and clean. Everything was in walking distance. The only down side was the parking was $15 a day for a motorcycle.

Room Tip: Get the King Suite. It is not much more money and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff_s_barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July 2011. This was such a beautiful hotel. The staff was very friendly and gave us excellent advice. Our room was facing the river and had a balcony but the weather was too hot and muggy to enjoy it. We ate the breakfast there in the hotel and it was delicious. City market and fine restaurants are within walking distance. We couldn't have asked for a better trip and ready and waiting to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing