We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd half of Honeymoon!”
Review of South Beach

South Beach
Ranked #40 of 166 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed July 9, 2018

If you know then you KNOW! SOBE has it all from eating, to shopping, and plenty of "sight seeing". Some stuff you'll ONLY see at SOBE! Hubby and I had a blast.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Yolanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tybee island"
in 100 reviews
"nice beach"
in 23 reviews
"crab shack"
in 9 reviews
"light house"
in 9 reviews
"low tide"
in 7 reviews
"love tybee"
in 5 reviews
"day trip"
in 14 reviews
"visiting savannah"
in 8 reviews
"lighthouse"
in 37 reviews
"waves"
in 16 reviews
"surf"
in 10 reviews
"dunes"
in 5 reviews
"fishing"
in 9 reviews
"georgia"
in 6 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 422 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2018

Clean sand, warm water, easy parking--NICE! This is a lovely beach for taking a long walk, a refreshing swim,sun bathing. Just a short easy drive from Savannah! Puts Cape Cod beaches to shame!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

We spent 4 hours here. Good sand - gentle slope into the water. Around Savannah I don't know what beaches are better. We went to Burkes beach in Hilton Head and enjoyed that a lot more (Coligny is gorgeous but way too busy). This beach here wasn't very busy which was nice. The sand was good, but not great. Parking wasn't great. It was a good beach and we liked that it wasn't overrun. It's a good beach - but not phenomenal.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Timothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I was struck by how much South Beach reminded me of Cape Cod. Sans the sprawling homes. At loow tide the beach goes on forever. It is also a favorite for Kite Surfers. Catch them on the WE.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2018

Tybee Island is about 15 miles outside of Savannah and is worth the trip if you need a bit of the Atlantic Ocean to round out your trip. The Lighthouse and historic houses on that land where the lightkeepers used to live is not to be missed. 178 steps up to the top is a bit of a work-out but the view once you get up there is wonderful. The houses are all furnished with the same furniture that was there when the lightkeepers used to live there. One of the houses was showing a video of the history of the various Tybee Island lighthouses that have been built over the centuries. There was also an interview with a woman who was child of one of the lightkeepers. She tells of how wonderful it was to grown up there. It was really charming to hear her story. The water in the Atlantic was not pretty the day we were there, as it seemed to be stirred up.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing