We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of South Beach

South Beach
Ranked #48 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Tybee island beaches are the worst and not pet friendly on the pier do not recommend this area at all one is better off driving to HHI S Carolina.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank time2go87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    111
    56
    18
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Festus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We went down to the beach at Tybee a couple different times. Parking is metered. It was a beautiful, clean beach. Easy to get to.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Sunset”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited Tybee our first night there and the weather was gorgeous and the sunset was beautiful. The pier was crowded with people fishing and having picnics there was music playing. The beach was still full of children splashing in the water and people riding waves on their surfboards.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, easy to get to”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I like Tybee Island and the beach. The pier is a great place to hang out at. I haven't gone on the really hot days, except early in the morning so parking hasn't been an issue. Some food available, minimal shopping (fine by me!)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MicheleandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Facelift Needed”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Tybee Island is very convenient to Savannah but it really needs a facelift. It is good to visit for a day at the beach but I waterfront area needs a lot of improvement.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidPence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach also viewed

 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing