We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University of Georgia's Marine Education Center and Aquarium
Review Highlights
Educational and Beautiful

This is a small aquarium that I would most recommend for kids; however, the grounds are lovely... read more

Reviewed April 18, 2019
Linda A
,
United States
Small but lots to see!

We enjoyed this small aquarium, especially the seahorses and the horseshoe crabs. Lots of... read more

Reviewed March 12, 2019
lawm
,
Calgary, Canada
Read all 98 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Savannah
from $34.12
More Info
from $27.50
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
from $57.00
More Info
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
35
42
10
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
35
42
10
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature trail touch tank horseshoe crabs short trail beautiful waterway sea creatures behind the scenes tanks species exhibits oak pier admission dolphins seahorse georgia interpretive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 98 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2019

We enjoyed this small aquarium, especially the seahorses and the horseshoe crabs. Lots of information and fun facts. We arrived at almost closing, but glad we stopped by. Also took a walk on the grounds and found the really old live oak tree. Very pleasant.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank lawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

This is a tiny aquarium, well off the beaten path, in a stunningly beautiful location. They have about 12-15 well maintained aquariums with crabs, fish, turtles and even seahorses. They have a good sized touch tank containing horseshoe crabs, whelks and hermit crabs.

Outside they have a lovely nature trail with two options ...short (1/2 mile) or long (1 mile). The trail is groomed enough for a wheelchair or jogging stroller if you go to the pier and then come back on the same path. The rest of the trail has been left very natural.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 984marianneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

Fish in poor health with traumatic injuries from incompatible tank mates and tank sizes. Water quality was visibly poor. Tanks were also mislabeled. No eye contact with the staff who accepted our payment.

We did not feel it promoted the stewardship necessary to educate people on the importance of our oceans.

Enjoyed the Jay Wolf Nature Trail most of all.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank edieskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

We attended a three hour school field trip here today. The staff was knowledgeable and great with the kids (middle school). They made the learning fun and interesting. They started by teaching about the water, soil, climate, etc. After studying the land we moved on to the plankton lab and caught and studied planktons and then moved on to the aquarium side, including a behind the scenes look at the aquarium.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank paulla2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Inexpensive way show children the beauty of the area and variety of sea life from that area.Picnic area with great view beautiful waterway,one mile paved loop (cork) trail along water and thru maritime forest. My wife,two daughters and their four small children loved this place

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews