We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”

River House Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
River House Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 864 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Experience genuine Savannah flavor while dining in an 1820's King Cotton Warehouse watching the merchant ships float by. Enjoy local favorites such as crispy scored flounder, shrimp & grits, filet mignon and fresh lobster. Save room for our signature desserts including praline cheesecake, pecan pie and bananas foster.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Enjoyed the food ! Loved the lobster/shrimp bisque ! Great place to eat! The service was wonderful ! Did not have to wait to be seated and helped us with the baby.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onesasslawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    365
    177
    56
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining experience with great food!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was the first meal we had in Savannah and it was by far my favorite. Several other reviewers mentioned the price and I felt the food was exceptional and worth the price. We ate at other places that were just as pricy and not as good. I had crab cakes and they were delicious. Our waitress was very good and it was a great cozy atmosphere for our first night in Savannah ( a mother/daughter reunion of 6). I would return to this restaurant if I am ever back in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The early bird special is the ticket here”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place can be a little pricey. If you go for the early bird special you can choose an app, entrée and desert. The scallops were very good and fresh. My friend ordered shrimp and grits, VERY GOOD. Dessert was probably the best part of our meal. We each chose something different in order to sample some of each. She got the chocolate bread pudding and it was amazing. I ordered praline cheesecake YUM. We really loved the history of this place and we were able to walk those desserts off on river street afterward.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crimsontidefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
219 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I were in Savannah for the Rock and Roll Marathon. I mention that because with around twenty thousand runners in the past we have had trouble finding places to eat due to the crowds. When we walked right in to the River House it should have been a give away that it was nothing special. The menu was varied and the food was good but not outstanding, probably overpriced for the quality. I ordered a blackened fish sandwich. It was well prepared but the fish was cut so thick it could not be eaten as a sandwich. My wife ordered the fried green tomato BLT. She found it to be rather bland, not bad just not much flavor. Service was ok but I'm not sure I would recommend the River House to friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJL_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakeman, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“River House Revisited”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Early bird special gave us a nice salad, appetizer entree and a desert. Nice not feeling stuffed. We love the history down by the river in this area. I had shrimp and grits my wife had the scallops. Both were good. I had pecan pie my wife had the cheese cake for desert. We would recommend this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River House Seafood also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to River House Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing