We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cooking Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“Great Cooking Class”
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I was with a group of ladies that went to attend the cooking classes held by Chef Darin Sehnert. We learned a lot, had so much fun and the food was out of this world. I can't say enough good things about this adventure - I look forward to going back again.

The rooms were very nice. The bar near the lobby was closed. Too bad because we would have spent a lot of time socializing there - didn't care for the upstairs bar at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridabeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    417
    190
    99
    79
See reviews for
295
824
42
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I had not heard of this hotel before, but actually stumbled across it on the internet. This is a very nice hotel, classy, historic, luxury at its finest.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbgaines04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

There is much to be said for this hotel: it has a great location on the lovely Forsyth Park, it is well-appointed, the outdoor pool is lovely, and it is one of a growing number of pet friendly hotels (pet deposit required). On check-in, pet owners will be provided a list of pet-friendly restaurants and venues in Savannah. There are a number if options on room sizes and configurations and plenty of suites. Just be sure you don't have a room that us anywhere close to the restaurant-nightclub that us part if the hotel. From midafternoon until as late as guests permit they play a constantly reverberating tecno music which causes your walls to vibrate. The club was empty both nights we stayed at the hotel, the music was nevertheless unrelenting. At 3 a.m. on our second night we had to call the front desk about music coming from the pool area. They immediately turned it off. We thought the bass-heavy tecno music Fron the club and the late night pool music demonstrated an insensitivity to the comfort of the hotel's guests. Otherwise, we would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitasDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

The good: beautiful hotel, including wonderful art everywhere you look. Decent location (nice to have Forsyth Park across the street). Excellent restaurant.

The bad: as other reviewers have noted, this is an expensive place to stay ($5 Evian bottles in the room don't help). I don't have a problem paying when the setting and service are spectacular, but here, the service isn't that at all. Problems included: the concierge messed up my Ghost Tour reservation, causing me to nearly miss the tour--I heard her give the tour folks an incorrect cell phone number for me, told her it was the wrong number, and she said she would call them back to correct it, but never did. We emailed ahead requesting to attend a cooking class at the restaurant, and I'm still waiting for a return email, with my stay already over. The bartender in the lounge above the restaurant was rude. He let us sit at a table without telling us that service is only available at the bar, left me standing waiting to place an order while he counted the cash in his drawer for several minutes, gave me the dribs/drabs at the end of a long-ago opened bottle of wine and never brought the water I requested. I'm not a high maintenance hotel goer and these little missed opportunities convinced me not to return to the Mansion, no matter how beautiful it is.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomFrancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We spent the weekend here for our son's wedding. Pros: Very impressive from the outside. Valet, attendants, desk staff, and housekeeping very accomodating. Rooms and decor very elegant. Food excellent (all is provided by the 700 Drayton Restaurant). Great location. Numerous things to do and see within walking distance.

Cons: Over priced (everything from room rate to drinks at the bar), numerous hidden fees (don't touch or look at anything unless you want to pay)!. We were charged for "free internet access", pool fees (never went to the pool), etc. In all fairness when the 'Resort Fees' were questioned, the staff quickly removed these charges from all bills for our party. We all experienced problems getting hot water for showers. It would take up to 20 minutes for the water to get hot. The private dining room in the 700 Drayton Restaurant was far too small to comfortably accommodate the wedding reception; however, the food was excellent (it should be for $178.00 per person).

Overall it was a very pleasant once in a lifetime experience. Would I go back; highly unlikely. Would I recommend to others......depends upon your taste.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglenest71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Not entirely satisfied, but I got a deal. So who's to complain ? Ironically, this place used to a funeral home, but since it was turned into a hotel it seems to be a very much desired destination for weddings/receptions/interludes. Expressionistic paintings on the walls suggest luxury and more. The attendants offered services respectfully, but they were not overbearing. They did well, but I wasn't there to play.

I was there on a weekend, so I didn't use the valet parking service. I parked on the street behind the establishment.

I was disappointed that the suggestion of luxury was not entirely true. (Maybe they gave me something other than a 1st class room because I got their online deal.)

My complaints are:

The room was not much better than another tourist class room of a hotel chain. A little larger? Yes. A little cleaner? Yes.
The ostentatious headboard of the bed looked like it had been pressed out of the same mold as any other plastic;
The seal around the shower allowed water to leak all over the bathroom floor;
You can't touch anything in the fridge without possibly being charged for the touch because there are sensors in the fridge.

I stayed at the Gastonian B&B a few times over the years, and the owner was lavish in his presentation and generosity. But now, the owners of The Mansion On Forsyth own that, too. I don't know that I want to return to the Gastonian, either.

I wouldn't stay here again, but if you're looking for ostentation, this is your Mansion.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank peloplatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Lovely location across the street from Forsyth Park. Very nice room, lovely common areas. Restaurant service was slow and the food typically pricey as in most hotels, but there are more reasonably priced eateries within walking distance. As mentioned in another post, we parked on the street rather than pay the $20 a night valet fee. A little far to walk to the riverfront attractions, but the tour shuttles all stop right outside the hotel. Cooking school was our main reason for staying here, and it was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Property: Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Address: 700 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing