We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Trendy Boutique Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #24 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Trendy Boutique Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

My wife and I love hip boutique hotels and this is one of the best we've seen! I can't believe people would choose to stay at some of the higher ranked "favorites." Ugh! Mr. Kessler has gone to incredible lengths on the design. It's like staying in an art gallery and the interiors are amazing, from rooms to restaurants. It's a very cool, funky and modern take on southern style. Their website photos capture it well...

The food here was the best we had during our entire two week trip through Charleston and Savannah! They have a cooking school onsite and it's obvious why its successful. Truly amazing food that you won't forget. Forget the vastly overrated Pink House restaurant for food (just visit the bar there instead). You'll find the best food in town at The Mansion!

The only very slight drawback to the location is that it's about a 20 minute walk from the river but the hotel has a free shuttle van that will drop you anywhere in the city, or pick you up, so that makes up for it. We never had to wait more than 10 minutes at the hotel, or 20 at a destination.

If I didn't stay here, I would stay at their new property right on the river, The Bohemian. It's a slight step down in coolness but it's right on the river and the rooftop bar was a very hot nightspot when we were there. There are some a lot of cool historic B&B's in town as well but I'm afraid I'd die of boredom at any of the other large hotels in town - especially the Hilton, a massive carbuncle on the face of Savannah!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RCane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    405
    183
    96
    72
See reviews for
286
800
42
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Great location from which to walk around the historic district. Comfortable bed. Good pressure shower and wonderful soaking bathtub. Service was good and everyone was was very friendly. Dinner and breakfasts at 700 Drayton were fabulous. Nice cocktail lounge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbatheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Very much an upscale boutique hotel with modern artworks covering the walls throughout.Beautiful decor and drapes all over.Lobby opens onto courtyard area that contains a small designer pool doric columns and elegant seating..all a bit Las Vegas but very tasteful.The hotel's restaurant is in the original manor house and directly linked to the hotel.It is a fantastic two story,multi roomed building full of art and wonderfull furnishings.There is a very smart cocktail bar on the top floor and a champagne bar on the ground floor.Hotel accomodation was interior designed and very elegant.Service was faultless.Hotel is less than a mile walk to City hall and the historic district but you can use the "on call" free hotel shuttle to get in and out of town if u don't fancy the walk.August in savannah is pretty hot and steamy so we got our rooms for a fraction of their peak season prices.Fantastic value but I guess even paying top rate in peak season this would still be worth the money

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimramtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

I booked this hotel through a travelzoo special. Not only was the service beyond what I expected but the hotel was beautiful. Some of the reviews I read were not favorable and they were proven wrong. The beds were so comfortable and the shower pressure was just right.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank profylerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is a really beautiful hotel with so much potential but it's such a shame that its ruined by poor service. Examples:

- We arrived in the middle of a downpour. The valet came out to the car with an umbrella for my wife (there is no covered area for loading and unloading but that's due to the historic building).. BUT they didn't offer to get my bags out of the car so I wound up unpacking the car in the rain. Then they didn't offer a dolley to take the bags up to the room

- When we asked for a late checkout, we were told "call in the morning to check and maybe you can have one" - not exactly stellar customer service especially since we wanted a late checkout so we could give them more $ by having brunch at their restaurant.

- The minibar had no bottled water in it, so we asked for a bottle at the front desk (there were two of us) and they gave us one bottle. not a big deal, but you'd think they'd give us more than one.

- car service is worthless. They tell you to make a reservation, which we did, but then the shuttle was 15 minutes late to take us to dinner and made us late for our reservation. They say to give them 15 minutes notice before you need a ride home. When we called for a pickup to come back, we were told 45 minutes because we're busy. The restaurant said they've had people wait 45 minutes regularly for the mansion to pick them up. This is ridiculous. if you're going to be that overloaded, get a second car or contract with a car service, especially since they charge for it in the "resort fee"

- The attached restaurant was nice and the food was good but the service was a bit off there too.

Overall, this place is missing some basic common sense service know how that would make the experience good but when missing make it annoying, especially when the staff makes a point to say "my pleasure" whle not accomplishing what you want.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluedevilnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary last month. We really enjoy staying in nice hotels and we never cheap out. Because of that it usually takes a lot to impress us. This hotel was definitely impressive. The staff was friendly and the hotel was beautiful. There were so many little details and things to look at. The hotel room was beautiful and spacious. We had a large garden tub and a separate shower. The pool was very small, but very elegant. Everything was over the top, artsy and classy. The perfect hotel for a romantic getaway.

FYI-there is construction going on directly across the street in Forsyth park. I would recommend saving your money if you are thinking about paying extra for a park view, because you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jana_kruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdemetree
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

My wife and I spent our anniversary weekend here recently. We had a great time. The hotel was perfect, the staff was friendly and very helpful, and the spa we awesome. One really nice feature was that they had a car and van that would take us to dinner, etc. It was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdemetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#15 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Property: Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Address: 700 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing