We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirty hotel”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel is certainly bizarre ,that I can accept , dirty rooms I cannot accept ,
The first room we where shown we rejected as the windows where so dirty you couldn't see out.
The second room,telephone was sticky and had dirty finger marks ,the toilet wall was covered in finger marks and smeared with goodness knows what ,the bath was dirty,dust everywhere,the list was endless .
We went for breakfast which was shocking ,even worse than the room,I sent my cup back twice as they where dirty !
The walls ,floor where we sat had old food on the floor,coffee stains down the wall ,when I mentioned why the place was so dirty ,I was told they only clean the restaurant once a week !!!!

The rooms are very dark ,even though it was a lovely sunny day we had to have the odd looking candelabra on all the time.
Judge for your self if you think that's one weeks dirt.
Photos supplied .

I'm sorry you could not pay me to stay here again .

Oh we where given a bottle of wine free parking and some fruit as compensation, believe me it wasn't .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Molly760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback such as yours as it provides us with the opportunity to make improvements in service. We were extremely disappointed to learn of the cleanliness issues you experienced during your stay. We understand the importance of having a clean room and restaurant; however, the scenarios you experienced are not indicative of our mutual standards. We take pride in our ability to deliver an enjoyable guest experience, but clearly missed in the mark in these instances. In your case, we simply did not meet this goal and have addressed your specific concerns within our Rooms Division.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in the future.

Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    435
    199
    101
    82
See reviews for
312
854
45
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel next to the beautiful Forsyth Park in the historic district,Very good service and an interesting room with art.You will enjoy your stay and see some historical houses also.They also have an interesting restaurant in the house next door

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a beautiful boutique-ish hotel with comfortable beds and quirky decor, but the best things about this hotel was Penelope. We stayed during the Shamrock run which blocked off a lot of streets and caused our taxi to arrive 30 to 40 minutes late. We had missed our restaurant reservation but Penelope called the restaurant to ensure that they still honored our reservation and insisted on getting us a taxi even when we were ready to walk the 20-25 min distance. When we returned, she had also sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne to make sure we had a great evening. I would definitely recommend this for everyone - couples, friends, business and I would stay here again. It is a bit far from the historical district (about 30 minutes walking) but a taxi ride cost only about $5 to $10 each way if you don't feel like walking at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is one of the nicest boutique hotels I've ever stayed at! There's really nothing negative I can say about this place. The whole property is beautiful. The staff is courteous, there's a great bar and restaurant and the rooms are fantastic. It's across from Forsyth Park, which makes for a fantastic walk or place to relax.

As long as you are aware of these three items, you should be all set:

- The hotel is 1 mile from the waterfront. It can be a long walk if done often, but they have shuttle service every 30 min from the Mansion to their sister property, The Bohemian, located on the water.
- Some of the rooms have only (beautiful/luxurious) curtains between the bathroom and sleeping area. Depending on who you are going with, make sure you ask for a non-curtained room if that's what you want. The curtains actually make for a much more elegant setup.
- Toiletries aren't replenished. We were there for 3 days and housekeeping didn't replenish the shampoo, conditioner or lotion. We had to ask for more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosenfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The art is everywhere and adds a wonderful touch to this hotel. We stay for two nights and enjoy the stay. It is about ten blocks from the Historical district, but it is short blocks and is close to Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room. Place was quiet, bed was very comfortable and price was reasonable. Recommended this place highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here again in February 2014 and it did not disappoint. The artwork is sometimes a bit over the top for our tastes but the room and service were impeccable. The lobby display of women's hats is worth a quick visit - even if you don't stay at the hotel - and so is their restaurant (700 Drayton)

Room Tip: Concierge level rooms offer superior amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent a long Valentines Weekend in Savannah and our hotel was definitely a hit! We had a room on the concierge level and made full use of the great breakfasts (delightful staff) and the cocktail hour treats.
All staff from front desk to house keeping to restaurant/bar were perfect! We will definitely return

Room Tip: Splurge for concierge level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expresso42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,323 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,302 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Property: Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Address: 700 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing