We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Funky Luxury”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful old red brick building opposite Forsyth Park at the south end of the historic district. Staff was extremely welcoming and helpful as to making restaurant suggestions and reservations. Savannah is a walking city, and hotel required a long walk to some areas, but they have a shuttle to take guests to their other property on Bay Street on the water, nearer to some restaurants and attractions.
The room was large, quiet and luxurious, with king sized bed, marble bathroom, with large sink area and enclosed "water closet". Lobby and adjacent public areas are an art gallery with modern paintings, outdoor pool has plenty of shade, from draped fabric.
Not sure if you need to be a Marriott Elite member to have access to concierge area. Concierge level provided breakfast and evening beer/wine.
The property has a nice restaurant and a spa with many services. We totally enjoyed our stay and would return to this property if we come back to Savannah.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    425
    197
    101
    80
See reviews for
305
846
45
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Mansion is beautiful inside and out. The staff were quite pleasant and the room comfortable.
I also enjoyed a few of the spa services, which I thought were first rate.
My only hesitation to offer 5 stars concerns the housekeeping. One day a pile of towels was dumped in our room rather than being placed where they belong, another day extra linens were clearly in our room by mistake, and some items which are to be stocked in the room (like coffee, cups, etc) were overlooked. It seemed like someone was not paying much attention. Not a big deal for sure, but not to be expected in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was very much looking forward to staying here, however upon our arrival, the bell staff treated us as if we were an annoyance, my husband had to wait for over 20 minutes while the bell staff assisted others, and they did not apologize at all for the wait. Not the southern hospitality we were expecting.
Our room was interesting, the decor is a bit quirky. The bathroom was gross. The marble in the shower needed a good scrubbing. The grout was disgusting, mildew in the corners, paint peeling on the ceiling, mildew on the ceiling, orange-colored soap scum!!! The shower head lacked pressure. This was an annoying considering the price and the ambiance Kessler was attempting to create.
The concierge floor boasted an evening reception. Cheeses, fruits, and a warm appetizer were offered. However, guests were limited to a one-alcoholic drink. Anything more was charged to your room. I have stayed on many concierge level floors, and never have I had to purchase drinks.
Room service was overpriced for average food. 22% gratuity and $3/person dining charge were added, and on the receipt there was room to write in another tip! We ordered steak, did not receive a steak knife. When we called to get one, it took over 15 minutes to get one, and by that time out dinner was cold.
I won't be staying here again. Save your money, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kamithira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Located on gorgeous Forsyth Park, this hotel is the perfect blend of modern sophistication, southern hospitality and the comforts of home. The hotel has a good fitness center, a very nice spa and an outdoor pool. Our room was massive, exceptionally quiet and extremely comfortable. We stayed on the concierge level which gave us access to breakfast and evening cocktails. The food at both was good. All of the staff at the hotel were very nice to us, and were helpful in making recommendations for places to eat and visit. The staff in the club room were not only very gracious, but also made it a point to get to know the guests. This is a pet friendly hotel, which surprised me a bit. We love dogs, so were very happy to see dogs with their owners in the hotel. If you do not like dogs, you may want to ask to be placed in part of the hotel away from pets. This was a great stay. We will return to this property.

Room Tip: Ask for park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tazewell, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is one of the best stays my wife and I have ever had. Its location is awesome, and few other accommodations excel more in amenities and charm. We stayed in a king room with a view of the park. we did not explore that much, but the parts of it we did see were spectacular. We will be going back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a spa tub, especially if it is a romantic getaway, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is in a gorgeous area right across from a lovely park. It is a bit of a hike to the river, but an interesting walk through the park.

We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking an area with gates and a courtyard which may be used for loading or for maintenance vehicles. We were disappointed with our view, but the room was clean and had a nice, spacious bathroom. Our only criticism is that the 2nd night of our stay, someone must have been doing maintenance or loading something below us, and we heard banging doors. This went on until about midnight. The hotel should try to correct this problem.

We read a lot of comments about the staff. A few of them are a little bit haughty and not helpful, but others were great. A little more training would take care of those stragglers.

Our first impression as we walked through the door was that the carpet was very dirty. It doesn't give a good impression and the hotel manager should do something about it. The hotel decor is most interesting and the art work even more so. We liked it a lot. So often hotels are very blah, and you can't say that about the Mansion. It has lots of character.

We will definitely stay here when we next visit to Savannah

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roundabout100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel staff was very nice, but this hotel missed on some of the basics, like a clean room with all of the facilities working properly. Toilet was stopped up. Shower pressure was poor and I had difficulty in getting hot water. Tub was dirty. and the vanity in the bathroom was too small to hold a normal amount of toiletries. Lighting in the room was also poor. We had to keep drapes open in order to see. I tried to contact the general manager but he was not available. I have left messages for him to contact me, but no response.

Room Tip: Decore in the lobby was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,261 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,034 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Property: Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Address: 700 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing