We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique hotel, but forgot about hotel basics.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #23 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
York, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique hotel, but forgot about hotel basics.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel staff was very nice, but this hotel missed on some of the basics, like a clean room with all of the facilities working properly. Toilet was stopped up. Shower pressure was poor and I had difficulty in getting hot water. Tub was dirty. and the vanity in the bathroom was too small to hold a normal amount of toiletries. Lighting in the room was also poor. We had to keep drapes open in order to see. I tried to contact the general manager but he was not available. I have left messages for him to contact me, but no response.

Room Tip: Decore in the lobby was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    403
    183
    95
    72
See reviews for
285
798
42
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Halstead, Kansas
Level Contributor
413 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Our room was not clean at all, and almost appeared like someone had used the room and left. There were crackers on the floor, mud in the shower, hair on the bathroom floor and an eyelash curler on the bathroom floor. When I said something to the front desk clerk, she said "oh" and that was all. This was certainly not what I would expect from the "Autograph Collection". On the plus side, the location was nice, but not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beth ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We understand the importance of cleanliness and guest service; however, the scenarios you experienced are not indicative of our mutual standards. We take pride in our ability to deliver a memorable guest experience, but clearly missed in the mark in these instances. We have addressed your specific concerns with the appropriate departments and individuals.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in the future.

Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

we have travelled all over the world and have stayed at all various chains and this location has come to the topof our list but by reading various reviews of this place - we had initiallly went to another location - but after the first night changed and came here !! what a difference in everything ! when we came in they had a room picked out and then when we asked to change to a different one - they did it with no problem - especially seeing as this was coming into the holiday weekend - whatever anyone has said about this place that was not good - forget it - the rooms were more than enough in size and comfort.. we came with our son who had to use the sleeper... the hotel offered to add some additional comfort to the sleeper and it made a world of difference for him -it is in the perfect spot for using the various trolley/bus pickups... right outside of the hotel
- this was even for the " dot" service - which is great to use because its " free" and you can get around on the "off and on system" without a problem - hotel had suggestions for where to eat and what to make sure you did see.. the front desk personnel were so nice and helpful even in the bar lounge they were all very real & proud of their city.will be coming back again...

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the park...and the corner suites are really great for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmarty40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This property is perfect if you desire to be away from the business and noise of River street. The hotel has trolley stop right next to the hotel. Also they have free private car service to take guest to river street. It does require advance notice but doesn't most transportation. The property decor is exceptional with historical value. How many hotels have an art museum inside of them? Also the history of the property is very interesting. Loved the valet team. They are such gentlemen. Staff very attentive to your needs. I especially love the fruit infused water and cookies in the lobby. Nice touch. Absolutely loved the bathroom of the room. Impeccable cleanliness noted throughout the hotel. If you are like me and desire a little morning exercise while on vacation then it is perfect. It is right across the street from the park. Also a nice walk to River street. Enjoy the scenic views. Better yet bring your bike and go green and decrease your carbon foot prints. Also great way to work of the great food you will find around Savannah.

Room Tip: My favorite room is on the first floor near the pool. Rooms with windows that open out to this area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCTTRAVEL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Mansion. It was a bit further from the historic district, but I enjoyed that is encouraged me to take different routes to head towards the river. All the staff was attentive and I enjoyed the fun little extras like the infused water and sweet tea in the lobby, homemade fresh cookies. The beds are comfy, the bathroom is huge, but the walls are thin. The best part? The hotel is an art museum. I've never seen so many amazing pieces of unusual art. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalkey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We liked the décor and room at the Mansion, but were disappointed by the distance to River Street and the service from the valet team. We would recommend this hotel to people uninterested in nightlife as it's further away from Historic Savannah. If you are interested in night life, we recommend the sister hotel, The Bohemian on River Street. We are thankful for to Kia at the front desk for her great service and attention to our requests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewarehouse0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s décor and that you would recommend us to your friends. Also, we are pleased that Kia was able to assist you throughout your visit.

Thank you,
Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Point, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was the third time that my group reserved three rooms at the Mansion for three adults. I made the reservations in November 2012 for our trip in May 13. I speciifically requested the three rooms be together or at least on the same floor as each of us are single travels who take care of each other. Our rooms were not only not together but on different floors. All were inside rooms with a view of another side of the building. Rooms were average and not of the caliber we were given in the past. When I spoke to the desk clerk, I was told that we should have requested upgrades. I did receive an email about two weeks prior to our trip and immediately requested this; however, was told there were no upgrades available. The Mansion was a big disappointment and I would advise others making reservations to be very specific on the accommodations they wish. While the staff was polite, they didn't really seem too interested in making any future offers. Also, when we arrived, we discovered there was a big wedding while we were there. We will most likely consider to stay elsewhere in the future. The price is NOT worth it.

Room Tip: When making reservations, be specific. Request a room facing the park if that is important to you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I was sad to learn of your recent experience while staying with us at The Mansion on Forsyth Park. I tried reaching you by phone but was unable to connect with you. It is always our goal to honor our guest’s requests so that we many not only meet your expectation but exceed it. I understand that we failed in that department for you. Please accept my apology. Although I know it can never truly make up for what you encountered I offer it to you with complete sincerity.

Please know that we take every guest comment seriously and value your opinion. We are committed to excellence and use your feedback to reach that goal.

Thank you,
Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#15 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Property: Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Address: 700 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing