We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent a lovely couple days here, and while the decor is quite luxurious, the rooms well-appointed, it isn't some place to which we'd be dying to return. We frequent Marriott hotels and have had much better service than we experienced here. Not to say it was horrible, just not fabulous. Called for extra towels our first night and they never came. The walls are thin and the first night we heard folks laughing/talking/coughing (can we say whooping cough?) for hours beginning at 1:30 am. One gal working the concierge room was not having the best day... she sighed a heavy sigh every time someone entered and was not helpful. The last day we were there, the gal working there was AMAZING. Very attentive and definitely the caliber I would expect from a hotel like this. Overall, we had the room we booked on the concierge level, it was nice to be on the park, but we wouldn't rush to spend so much next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peapodrce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Although this boutique hotel is beautifully designed & decorated, the staff lacks the charm & courtesy one expects when traveling in the south. I got an amazing rate through my company,so i didint complain as i would on this most recent visit, but my experience will have me reconsider staying again. My first stay in spring 2011 started off wonderfully, until my bottle of St Germain disappeared and hotel staff "found" it in the maids closet.i got only half hearted apologies from front desk & maintenance/security but no letter, calls or concessions from management. And the most recent visit met me with a dingy tub. And i told the staff at check out & was brushed off. So although the location is prime, views are nice & rooms beautiful, i expect more from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiana1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here one night for a friend's wedding......on the concierge level, which is the way to go. In the concierge room, we had a nice continental breakfast on the day of departure and nice wine/appetizer spread on the evening we arrived. The wedding was actually at the hotel -- ceremony was in the courtyard area and reception in the ballroom. It was nicely done. Hotel is walking distance to Savannah's main attractions and it was nice to be across the street from the park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to Savannah for a weekend to celebrate his birthday and were not disappointed by The Mansion on Forsyth. The staff were attentive and professional, the rooms were luxurious, the common areas were well-appointed with great attention to detail and the drinks and food at the restaurant were fantastic. The only thing to keep in mind when booking is that this hotel is quite a walk from the downtown/riverfront however they provide a free shuttle service twice an hour between this hotel and the other property -The Bohemian. Pay the extra to have a room overlooking the park as the alternate views are not nearly as pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatPope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is my 4th visit to the Mansion on Forsyth Park and the 2nd time I've had issues with my room reservations. When traveling with my family (husband, 3 kids, parents) we require 2 rooms. The past two times we have booked 2 rooms with 2 queen beds in each room, we arrived to check in only to find that the hotel didn't have appropriate rooms available. After being offered 2 king rooms (where were my extra people supposed to sleep?0, my husband had to really get in the managers face in order for them to find rooms. After almost an hour of us standing in the lobby, showing our confirmation number from the internet reservation site and my husband getting angrier by the minute, they finally "find" us rooms...not on the concierge level (that we had already reserved) and not double rooms...but rooms with beds for everyone.
For the money we are paying for the rooms, we expect that if the website says certain rooms are available, that they will be available. It was like a bait and switch.
For those wondering, we were staying at the Mansion because my daughter was performing at the Civic Center and the hotel was within walking distance.
As for future stays, I believe we will be looking into the bed/breakfasts that dot this great city.

Room Tip: I'd pick a room that is on the 3rd or 4th floor. The ground level rooms on the park side get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacyp391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from 1 night at the Mansion on Forsyth Park which was wonderful. We were on the concierge level which was very nice. The hotel was lovely but more than anything the staff was superb. They really went the extra mile to assure that everything was perfect. Ate dinner at the hotel restaurant which was also excellent. I enjoyed staying on the square instead of on the riverfront. It was quiet & perfect for a morning walk yet close to everything.
Will definitely return

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yippee1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Overall we had a nice stay at this hotel. The only reason we gave it a 3 rating is because being that it is a Kessler property we expected more. To us it’s the attention to details that matter, things like working light bulbs in the bathrooms and quality of the sheets. When retiring to out room the first night we noticed that the sheets were torn and frayed at the edges and they did not even fit the king size bed. We have stayed at smaller B&Bs who have better quality sheets.

For the most part staff was nice and accommodating which was especially nice since we were traveling with our two dogs. However; we quickly realized that if we called to request something from guest services we were often times forgotten about.

Location was great if you like a little more if a relaxed quiet stay as it is not right in downtown. If you are traveling with dogs, it is the best location as it is right across the street from Forsyth Park. They do have a shuttle which runs between the Mansion and the Bohemian. We loved that availability as we could go out on the town and not have to worry about driving or paying for a taxi.

When traveling with dogs we would stay here again, as it is in our option a better option than some others in Savannah. If not traveling with dogs, we would most likely try a different hotel/B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments! We are glad to hear that our location was ideal for you and your four-legged friends to explore the beauty of Forsyth Park! In addition, we understand what a difference attention to detail can make for your overall experience. We consistently strive to exceed our guests’ expectations, and we would love to welcome you back in the future to provide the highest level of service and luxury available in Savannah.

Elisa Dickerson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#14 of 115 in Savannah
3,161 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 115 in Savannah
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,359 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Address: 700 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $216 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing