We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Living...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gracious Living...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A friend and I stayed at The Mansion in September of 2012. We were only there 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer! It was a lovely place to come home to after hot and humid days and nights spent exploring Savannah.
We had a lovely view of Forsyth Park from our 2nd story window. Make sure to request a view room! We had requested and paid for a view room but they mistakenly put us in a different room first...it had a view if the back of the hotel where they dumped the trash. Front desk fixed problem right away and got us to the correct room.
The beds were some of the most confortable I have ever slept in...like a cloud! So if you like a soft squishy bed, you'll love these. Room was spacious, we had 2 queen beds, a chasie lounge, a desk, and armoire with closets in either side and TV and droors in middle.
The Bathroom was very roomy and opened up into the bedroom with big double hinged doors over the tub so you could watch TV from bathroom and converse with your friends while getting ready. It had 2 sinks, big soaking tub, and seperate shower & water closet. The only thing I did not like was that the water closet had a glass door. So when you are sharing a room with freinds no one else can be in the bathroom getting ready unless you want them to see you using the facilities! In fact the shower and toilet were seperated by a glass panel that leaked! So later in the evening when we got back from our Pub Crawl and I took a shower...my drunken friend went to use the facilities and thought she had wet on the Floor!
All in all it was a great place to stay and would definitely stay again...even with the strange see thru bathroom :-)

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a view of Forsythe Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vegasgirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are pleased that we were able to provide a comfortable and welcoming retreat after a long day of touring our beautiful city. On your next visit to Savannah, we would love the opportunity to provide you with the same exceptional service and bohemian style you received.

Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    374
    167
    91
    66
See reviews for
254
720
36
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel has a great location on a quiet street across from Forsyth Park. The bed was very comfortable and our suite was modern with a southern flair. We did not make it to the restaurant here but would love to check it out next time! The lobby and bar area were very swanky and gilded yet inviting. This area is several blocks from the crowded River Street tourist area. It also seems geared more toward adults than families traveling with kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKGAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have stayed in the best properties around the world and sincerely this is one of them. I could not believe it either as I was just passing through. Service was incredible, food at the restaurant was better than most nyc ones, rooms were huge and beautiful, location great, this place is like some kind of museum. I cannot say enough about it.

Room Tip: As for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porchfly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are very appreciative that you consider our property, staff, and food to be one of the best properties in the world. It is our mission to embody the true essence of southern hospitality in our unique, bohemian accommodations. As always, we would love to welcome you back on your next trip through Savannah!

Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel's location on beautiful Forsyth Park is its greatest calling card, but not its only one. The park became the centerpiece of our visit to Savannah, enjoyable for walking, scenery and people watching. Can't emphasize too highly how much of a plus this was. Hotel itself was a very good value for the money - not quite brilliant but with a lot of strengths and definitely more than worth the rates. Great bar, breakfasts, totally over-the-top decor. Wonderful home base for exploring the rest of Savannah. One downside: bathroom is basically open to the rest of the room, closed off only by a curtain.

Room Tip: You definitely want a room facing Forsyth Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shtetl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Rarely does a hotel look better in reality than it does on the internet, but in this case we were delightfully surprised. The hotel itself is lovely with original art work along all the corridors. The lobby is welcoming and the bar inviting. The dining facility is intimate and the food appealing to the eye and the palate. Our room was large, facing the park, with a wonderful bathroom including a whirlpool tub. The location is perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed the warm weather and lazy strolls in the park and surrounding neighborhood. The staff was friendly and courteous from the valet attendants to the concierge. We plan to stay at the Mansion again for any future visits to Savannah.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a corner room with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are very pleased to hear the many wonderful comments about your recent experience! The many charming aspects of our property situated on picturesque Forsyth Park truly provide a fresh and unique experience while visiting the city, and we are very glad that we exceeded your expectations. Our staff anxiously awaits your next visit to Savannah!

Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I love Savannah and have visited the city a number of times in the past seven years, always staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Airport, which I would also recommend for its Southern charm and hospitality. I have passed the Mansion on Forsyth Park many times and always promised to treat myself there one day and finally did so. My expectations were more than met. The magnificently restored Victorian mansion is in the heart of the beautiful historic district and everything about the hotel has a taste of southern luxury, tinted with some typical Savannah quirks. Our room and ensuite overlooked Forsyth Park and were outstanding and luxuriously appointed, as indeed is the whole hotel which has interesting artwork throughout. We had a delicious seafood meal in the restaurant followed by a relaxing evening in the bar entertained by a wonderful live jazz band. In general, the staff were hospitable and friendly and our stay was well worth the price.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room overlooking Forsyth Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired_Gentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for treating yourself to The Mansion on Forsyth Park! We are delighted to know that the reality exceeded your expectations. We are also happy to learn how much you enjoyed your dinner and live music at 700 Drayton restaurant and Casimir’s Lounge. Hearing how much you appreciated the charm of our staff and property makes us elated, we thank you for that. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

this was a luxury experience at an affordable price
the only flaw, pay for net and no real parking
everything else was stellar
the furnishings and environments were wonderful
the staff was friendly and efficient

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to learn that you have so many positive things to say about our hotel, our furnishings, environment and especially our friendly staff! Should your future travel plans include Savannah, we hope you will stay with us again.

Elisa Dickerson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,475 reviews
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel
#14 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Downtown
Gastonian
Gastonian
#5 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Property: Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Address: 700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing