We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay Marathon weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for the Savannah Marathon. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the bathtub was great! They were very helpful even though it was a busy weekend. The location was right by the finish so it was a good place to stay for the race because it was very quick to get back to the room. It is a bit farther away from the shops than some of the other hotels. However, that is relative because the historic district isn't that big. It took us 15 minutes to walk to the river. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmbmsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

As a loyal Marriott elite member, I wanted to experience a property in the Autograph Collection.
The Mansion is a beautiful hotel on the edge of Forsythe Park, in the historic district of Savannah.
The hotel has an extensive art collection, and an art deco feel to the place. Service was standard, nothing remarkable. The room was a bit of a disappointment, The furniture and ambience is tired and worn. The king bed, as expected, had fine linens and was extremely comfortable. The bathroom amenities were a yawn. Standard shampoo/cond/body lotion. For these room rates I would have expected a shower cap and more luxurious products. No laundry bag in sight in the closet to be found. Had a distinctively dark feel to the room. Concierge room services were included in the room rate. Never have I experienced such a plebeian assortment of food, both breakfast and evening. Each day was a turnover of some kind in the warming dish, unappetizing and tasteless. Plenty of pastry carbs that no one seemed to touch. Savannah is a lovely town, with many hotel options. Not sure hotel this would garner a return trip. For the money, this was below expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very expensive. Remote control didn't work and required two phone calls. Room service was 1.5 hours for a $33.00 hamburger and bowl of soup. Very nice glass and tile shower, but door would not stayed closed.

The room was beyond beautiful. Really made you feel pampered.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saintgeorgeisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful experience..highly recommended. Location s great opposite Forsythe Park, walk to historic district...shuttle available to riverfront. Staff were excellent. Room was well equipped and had a great bathroom.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed three nights at Mansion on Forsyth Park and really enjoyed it. As the name suggests, it is an old mansion that was also once a funeral parlour, which plays to the slightly spooky "Garden of Good and Evil" feel of Savannah. It's opposite beautiful Forsyth Park and a short walk to the centre of Savannah. The decor is quite wild, with colourful modern artwork everywhere and purple and red curtains in the ground floor area. Our room was comfortable with the exception of the shower, which had only a spindly flow of water. The bed was extremely comfortable.
The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Our rate did not include breakfast but there is an excellent breakfast next door at 700 Drayton. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Don't miss the fabulous antique hat collection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Mansion, as described by others, is a beautiful facility across from Forsyth Park, which provides opportunity for walking, running, etc. The hotel is covered with fine art, which you will appreciate. Rooms are ample and well appointed but I would say, at least for ours, a little worn. We were there with a group on business and the hotel was full. That turned out a problem for us. We arrived just prior to check in and were given a room, #101, just off the lobby and adjacent to where cars arrive and unload. Noise was a problem, made worse by load music for the entertainment of bell hops. My wife had to request they turn it down twice, which they did. I'll discuss room selection later. Food for our group was excellent, but our one breakfast in the dining room was not. Cold poached eggs just doesn't cut it.

The spa was very nice and my massage was top notch.

Overall, it was a good facility for our meeting of about 100 people.

I ended up with mixed feelings about the Mansion, thus the four stars. It would not take much to move it up a notch.

Room Tip: The hotel faces a major thoroughfare and as such rooms on the first floor facing that street, Drayto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Mansion has been a place that we've wanted to visit for some time. For our anniversary in July, we had that opportunity! We dined at 700 Drayton, cooked at the 700 Cooking School and stayed in this amazing hotel for the evening. Being Platinum with Marriott offers us the opportunity to visit many hotels in the line - and many may not know, but this is actually one of the Autograph Collection hotels with Marriott. For mid-July, we were able to get a room with a relatively short notice for only $129 a night - a great value! We enjoyed a large room with elegant unique decor, a spacious bath with a large walk-in shower and jetted garden tub and all of the class and elegance one can expect. Valet was a handy option for parking and left us only carrying our bags to our room. We checked in super early and were pleased to find there was a room ready. The staff was so friendly and helpful, I am still perplexed by the negative comments regarding the staff. No question went unanswered and everyone was attentive and willing to help. Since we are area locals, I definitely think we will return to the Mansion again. Given the experience we had, I'd recommend it to friends Marriott acquainted and not! If you're looking for a romantic atmosphere, historical charm and a beautiful setting, you must stay at the Mansion! It is called 'Mansion' for a reason! Lovely!

Room Tip: We always ask for a high floor away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjscraftygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,421 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,340 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Address: 700 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $230 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing