We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nice property”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We arrived and although our room wasn't ready, we were happy to receive a large corner room -227 a bit later. Large room and bathroom area. Large tub and shower areas. Smaller tv in the room but nice big windows and comfortable bed. Pool area is very small but the nice waterfall wall creates a nice pleasing setting. Lounges and pool side area are nicely kept. Bar area and restaurants are nice, with good food and for the most part good service. Bartender had a huge crowd as a wedding was held in the hotel but he remained calm and professional and quickly dealt with the high volume of people.
Nice shop in hotel with creations from artists in the area. Desk staff are friendly. Did have a mix up in the reservation of the party that we were traveling with - they only partly resolved that issue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolofjello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    416
    190
    99
    79
See reviews for
295
823
42
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have stayed at the Mansion many times over the last 10 years, most recently the weekend of June 15. It reminds me of a fine European boutique hotel with a distinctly Southern flair. There is nothing "cookie-cutter" about this property -- If you love art, fine dining/cocktails, and museum-like atmospheres, the Mansion is a great choice. The rooms are spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, comfortable, and well-equipped; the staff is friendly and serviceable, and the location is among the best in Savannah. However, I did experience some problems with this visit that were voiced by other reviewers, i.e., a delay at check-in and the absence of adequate bar service in the afternoon. I get the impression that these service issues are somehow connected to the extra attention demanded by wedding parties in the month of June, as it has never been a problem for me in the past. I agree with the other reviewers that management will have to provide solutions to peak-season service deficiencies in order to keep up the property's 5-star rating. Otherwise, I was very satisfied and plan to return the next time I am in Savannah. Many thanks to everyone at the MoFP for your attention and hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
707 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel. The decor around the hotel is very chic, the beds are comfortable and the service spot on. You can park for free on the side streets, but valet parking is available.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I live near Savannah, but we wanted to stay overnight after dinner in order to celebrate a milestone. We were underwhelmed by the Mansion, starting with the check-in experience. We arrived right at check-in time (4 p.m.) and were told that our room was not ready. We were given no options...just a flat "it's not ready, and we have no idea exactly when it will be ready". The front desk clerk did not offer to take our luggage but took our phone number and said she would call us. We decided that we would walk over to the bar (with a rolling suitcase) and wait there.

We waited at a table in the bar for about 10 minutes with no offer of service. My husband went to the bar to order drinks and appetizers, but he was told that it would be a little while as they were in the middle of a shift change. That's understandable...but apparently, they weren't too busy to assist another bar patron who wandered up right as my husband came to sit back down. When we finally got the food and drinks, they were excellent.

While we were in the bar, the same front desk clerk that "assisted" us walked over to another couple and told them their room was ready. She offered to comp their drinks (which we thought was nice). About an hour after check-in time, we were called and told we could officially check in. Our drinks were not comped. Apparently, there was complimentary sparkling wine in the lobby as well, although we were not offered any (or told that it was available).

The hotel itself is pretty, and the art collection is fun. The rooms are nice, although the room we were in is starting to show a little wear and tear. Overall, the experience was OK, but there are certainly better luxury options in Savannah. AAA should come back and re-evaluate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

What a pleasant surprise. The decor is outstanding. Artwork everywhere you look. Sophisticated, chic yet still had the old-world charm of its architecture. Unlike some of the other reviews, the service provided by the hotel staff was impeccable and spot on! I loved it.

Room Tip: Request a room over looking the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brimstonekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary! Had heard it was excellent and it certainly was that. The restaurant on site we fantastic, only a few couples were there and it made it all the more enjoyable. Had breakfast there as well and it was also very good. It's a 15-20 minute walk from the downtown shopping area, which made it a little inconvenient, but they do have a shuttle that will take you there and pick you up. However, the pick up didn't arrive for over 30 minutes so we walked back. Otherwise a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If going downtown, take the shuttle, but plan for a taxi ride back to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan9969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really neat boutique hotel run by Marriott. Service was unpredictable. Restaurant was great. Location was next to a pleasant park. Walking distance to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baddydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Property: Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Address: 700 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing