We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott should remove them from Autograph Collection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #23 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I booked two rooms for 5 nights over the 4th of July holiday. I booked through the Marriott web site using my friends and family status. If we had paid full rack rate, we might have found other lodging if any available.We were celebrating two birthdays and were expecting the 4 Diamond Award, Kessler service that other reviews raved about.
If you notice, this property has not been awarded any awards since 2009. The appearance of the hallways and rooms show the neglect of the housekeeping and management staff. The lobby is attractive but when stepping out to the pool area, the floor tiles are filthy, as is the grout. Shards of glass broken the previous night during a private party were still present in the afternoon of 7/4. The pool tiles at water level show no recent scrubbing since there is calcified scum and is black colored under the coping. (We've cared for many private and community pools so this is an accurate review.) The aftermoon of the 4th, we sat poolside and watched Jacob come out to the pool to verify two women were guests of the hotel. He must have had blinders on since the two overflowing trash bins he passed went unnoticed since these were not emptied.
Upon checking in, we were welcomed by Joe warmly. A courtesy upgrade was given to a larger room and it was appreciated since we were in residence for 5 nights. Our friends checked in later that day by another associate. They were told they were to receive complimentary breakfasts each day. When our friends told us, we confirmed this by the same associate as we were leaving that evening for our birthday dinner.
We are not breakfast people so for the first morning, we did not join our friends. The second morning we decided to join them, but first thought to once again confirm the comp breakfast at the front desk. This time we were told no, after Jacob (manager) checked our reservation. We explained the situation and there was no apology or explanation for the confusion given. He was cold and stiff. Perhaps he needs some Marriott management training!!!
The room itself is attractive but shows signs of wear. The carpet in the entry is worn, wood rot around the bath floor tile at the entry to bath, many spots of mold in the shower. The extra towels we requested were not replaced each day. The bar of soap continued to build residue throughout our stay in the soap dish. Body lotion was not replaced. The bath whirlpool spa was in working order, clean and enjoyed. The Starbucks coffee in room is a nice touch but our request for just regular, no decaf, was not remembered.
As stated in other reviews...the fitted sheet does NOT fit. Jacob once again told us after two morning requests, housekeeping does not know how to fit the sheet. It may be pulled to almost go around the thick mattress, but during the night comes off and one awakes to sleeping without a fitted sheet. Deeper pocket sheets should be purchased and used on the beds. It is not the fault of the housekeeper!!!
Now comes why this review is rated very good. The door staff, transportation staff and especially Karianne, their congierge, are excellent! Each time we come to the entry, the door was opened and we were greeted with sincere welcomes. The car service was suburb. It seemed as though the car was there just for our service. This was a bonus since we snagged free street parking for our own car and didn't have to pay the daily rate
for hotel parking. BUT the most valuable staff member is...Karianne! She was always smiling and so helpful with all of our needs since this was our first time visiting Savannah.
Three times we visited the sister hotel, The Bohemian, and were blown away with the professionalism and cleanliness of the hotel. Twice they used their own transportation to take us back to the Mansion. Kudos to the manager, Lisa, who approached us on the evening of the 4th after fireworks to assure us that they would get us back to the Mansion after traffic cleared no matter what time it was.
When Savannah residents asked us where we are staying and we replied "The Mansion", there were" oohs and aahs, WOW!"
If this property is not attended to, not thoroughly cleaned and continues to have a manager who is pompous and does not value hospitality then it will become just another has-been tired hotel trying to bask in their past awards.

Room Tip: If given a park view room, know that this is over the street and there will be traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SRQtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review of your recent trip to Savannah over the holiday weekend. We sincerely apologize you did not encounter the 4 diamond service you expected from our front office. Please know your concerns regarding the pool and housekeeping issues have been shared with the management team. We are pleased to hear you felt welcomed each time you entered and exited the hotel. It is wonderful you enjoyed our sister property in Savannah, The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to both Karianne and Lisa. Thank you again for sharing a review.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,394 - 1,400 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

Very comfortable beds, large rooms and baths, high end linens.
Unique decor, covered outdoor area and pool. Within walking distance to downtown and Forsyth Park.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcitywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time spent at The Mansion on Forsyth Park. We will look forward to seeing you again when your travels again lead you to Savannah.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but we got a great deal from Travelzoo! Our king room was $123 a night and included free breakfast at 700 Drayton, the excellent hotel restaurant. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the crazy art in the hotel, and the service...but this is not a family hotel! The pool is simply for dipping in, not swimming. The location on Forsyth Park is off the beaten path, which we loved, but there is not a lot of action around there. The concierge was new, and not super knowledgeable, but she tried very hard to accommodate us. The valets were wonderful. our room was nice, but I would not want to spend twice or three times what we paid for it. Surprisingly, Internet was not free...not only that, but you paid per device, not per room! For the price we paid, it was a very nice vacation from the ordinary, but I don't think I would describe it as extraordinary.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2011

It’s so great to hear you enjoyed your vacation spent in Savannah at The Mansion on Forsyth Park. Thank you for sharing your experience. We would certainly enjoy welcoming you back should you find yourself back in our area.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Services Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week and enjoyed the time we spent here. The modern art collection was not to our taste, and we met no one else who liked it either. The pool was OK - small and sometimes closed for functions. The hotel is situated opposite Forsyth Park, a great location about 15 minutes walk from the nearest restaurants and half an hours walk from the main restaurant areas and the river. The hotel restaurant was very good, service and food were excellent. There are two bars, but only one open at any one time, we never managed to get a drink in the upstairs bar. Vallet parking is efficient, though $20 a day. We loved Savannah but next visit may stay near the river where more is going on.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverside7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2011

We are excited to hear you and your wife enjoyed your time spent in Savannah. Thanks so much for sharing a review. It is wonderful you enjoyed both the food and service offered at The Mansion. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Services Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This should be the #1 place to stay in Savannah! It has a combination of style, friendliness, creativity, great food and value. We traveled there as 2 couples that enjoy good food and stylish accommodations. I have never seen a place that has such a collection of excellent art (must be over 500 original paintings) including sculptures. The hotel was built in 2005 of red brick to look like the 19th century adjacent house that serves as the restaurant, which serves excellent breakfast and dinner in an elegant setting. The service was impeccable and a must for dinner even if not staying there. There is also a cooking school in the hotel.

There is a very small pool just to cool off. The rooms are creatively done and very comfortable. They have a soaking tub plus a glass walk-in shower with overhead rain shower head.

It is located in front of the largest park in Savannah and is about a 10 minute walk to the historic district. They do provide free shuttle to the historic district. We have traveled extensively and must say that this place was a find for us. It is not a cookie cutter hotel, but a very small chain of very unique hotels. Free in street parking, in room wifi additional.

Room Tip: Request a room above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WidmanSanRafael_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

We are thrilled to hear you and your friends enjoyed your time spent at The Mansion on Forsyth Park and in Savannah. Thank you for the wonderful review. We will look forward to seeing you all again soon. Next time be sure to schedule a cooking class at 700 Kitchen School which showcases rotating themed classes.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Visit Savannah 2-3 times a year & have regularly thought of staying at the Mansion so aside from the varied reviews thought to try on this trip. Noted that pervious reviews experienced less than customer friendly service. That was not our experience. Staff were pleasant & cordial. Valet service was very quick. Our room experience was not as pleasant. We had a horrible view of dumpsters, the armoire corners were chipped, carpet was badly worn & bathroom mirror cracked in both bottom corners. May sound picky, but I like beds turned down in the evening which was not offered. Found it somewhat insulting that internet was $9.95 a day when you are paying $ for this room. Have stayed in other 4 star in Savannah (& yes I know you end-up paying in some manner) but there was no chg. for internet. The Mansion offers free shuttle service around the historic area but was only until 9:00 pm. We did not eat at the restaurants nor used the room service. We did schedule massages at the spa. The spa is very small & locker area can feel cramped if more that 2 people are trying to get changed. I received one of the best massages I have ever had! My daughter rated her experience at the spa as "o.k." because she shared that she could hear conversations outside her room which was distracting. I did not hear ancillary conversations. Glad I fulfilled my curiosity with the Mansion mystic but would not stay there again. Have found other 4 star & same $ range that were much nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrKKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing a review of your visit to Savannah. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time in the spa and you found our staff to be “pleasant and cordial.” We appreciate you sharing information regarding the condition of your guest room and know it has been shared with our engineering department. We do hope you and your family enjoyed your trip to Georgia.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I should have known better when I had to schlep my luggage to the front desk in 3 trips while the desk agent smiled at me. From there I realized there was a serious service issue. Just a few highlights, I sat down at the bar and looked to my right to find 5 pre teen children sitting at the bar with me. Walking to the pool I walked past the group of tables under a canopy all with overflowing ash trays. But my favorite was seeing the same coffee cup on a table in the lobby for 12 hours. Finally when I came down for dinner I handed it to the front desk clerk. What I thought was going to be a luxurious weekend was at best disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg_kirk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

We apologize for the several service failures you shared in your review and that your get away with friends fell short of your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share these items. Please know they have been shared with the front office staff for immediate improvement.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#15 of 115 in Savannah
3,179 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 115 in Savannah
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,371 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Address: 700 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $214 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing