We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully restored mansion!”
Review of Andrew Low House

Andrew Low House
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #29 of 213 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Andrew Low commissioned New York architect John Norris to design and construct his house in 1848. Norris came to Savannah to design the Custom House on Bay Street and remained in Savannah to build many desirable residences with the latest in technology and luxury. The Italianate exterior features intricate cast iron railings and side balconies contrasting with the smooth stuccoed brick walls. The well proportioned rooms are decorated with elaborate plaster cornices and carved woodwork. The delicate balance of exterior restraint and opulent interior resulted in an elegant villa for the family.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored mansion!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

An antique dealer told us not to miss this house. We had a small tour group of six and the guide was excellent. The furniture is beautiful, Duncan Phyfe chairs, and other priceless antiques. We have toured many homes and this was one of the best we've seen.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    119
    34
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contoocook, NH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The house was simply beautiful and is a 'preservation' house as opposed to a 'restoration' house - it remained in the family until the foundation that currently owns it took possession. They have an a lot of original family pieces, and if not original to the house, pieces are authentic from the period. Andrew Lowe was a wealthy cotton broker, so it is a very 'upscale' house. The other home we toured was the Davenport house - and it was like night and day (The Davenports were a middle class family and the house was made into apartments and decayed significatly before it was restored). The guide was very knowledgeable and gave a great tour. Highly recommended! None of the house tours seem to let you take photographs inside :(.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NHmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best furniture of all the houses”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We recently visited Savannah and took in several of the open historic houses, including the Owens-Thomas House, the Mercer House, and Juliet Lowe's Birthplace. The most interesting house was the Andrew Lowe House, which is in excellent repair and contains the best furniture we saw in any of the houses, including several pieces by Duncan-Fyfe. If you like historic houses and good furniture, this is the house to see.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Retireerecent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be sure to see this home!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This beautiful home has been lovingly restored and the furnishings and architecture are amazing. The tour guide was so knowledgeable and nice. She made us feel that we had stepped into the past and you almost expect the owner to walk through the door. Couldn't imagine a better experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank charjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved the House!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The house is beautiful, the furnishings and the architecture are very impressive, and everything is in pristine conditions. Our guide was nice and very knowledgeable. It was our first stop on our walking tour of Savannah, and being a military family it was complimentary. If you have children, check out the Savannah Safari (you will need to search online), it will have them walking all over the place without complaining, even if you are not a scouting family you still can have fun with it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank marta30269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andrew Low House also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Andrew Low House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing