We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Springhill's sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Airport
Ranked #73 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Thanks to TripAdvisor, I took the advice of another poster who noted that s/he should've stayed in Pooler, instead of Savannah proper, because all the Airport/Pooler properties are new. This hotel had great amenities and helpful staff. The room seemed a little "cold" (not in temp, but style) but was well appointed. My main complaint about the room was that the corners of our bed sheets kept popping up. We weren't doing anything too exciting, but our 2.5-year-old son can be a little lively. Even still, the corners still popped up with the normal toss and turn of sleep. The hotel needs to invest in deeper sheets or sheet anchors or something. I also noticed a tag on the mattress stating that the matters should be rotated every six months and it was clear, from the position of the tag and the month, that the mattress apparently wasn't rotated on schedule. We arrived at 9-ish PM and weren't able to get any food service from area restaurants (we tried ordering pizza, and even Domino's suddenly claimed to be closed, after answering the phone with a spiel asking us if we wanted to take advantage of the current special). I jumped in the car and zoomed across the street for take-out at Sam Snead's Tavern. Since it was Sunday, they were closing at 10 PM and Curtis the bartender was a bit gruff, but warmed up a bit. The food there was good, by the way. Back to the Springhill, the breakfast was pretty diverse, for a freebie. We jumped in the pool (warm the night before when we dangled a toe in), now cold. So jumped in the heated whirlpool instead. Note that the YMCA holds a water aerobics class there Monday mornings from 9:15 to 10:15 (the Y's pool is outdoors, so when it's warmer, I guess they'll go back to the Y). Overall, we were very pleased with this stay (is it a Tempurpedic mattress? We didn't have a glass of wine to find out, but it seemed like it).

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Maar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 268 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2006

Normally, this type of hotel would deserve a 5 star rating. There are some minor distractions though. I will start with the good...

GOOD:
Large rooms, clean, separate bedroom/living areas, wet bar, at least 12' ceilings on 1st floor suite rooms, exercise are, indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

The room was clean, in order; cleaning staff did a good job of keeping things as they should be. The bed was very comfortable to my wife and I, I think it is foam but not sure. There is an office/living area separated by a doorless wall from the bedroom and bathroom which was very nice, especially if you have work to do and do not want to disturb those going to bed, very nice touch!

The bathroom was HUGE with a nice shower head with multiple settings. A wet bar with mini fridge and microwave made a nice "kitchenette" area.

Breakfast was served each morning. Eggs, Sausage, cereals, juices, yogurts, toast, bagels, english muffins, blueberry muffins, waffles, coffee were on tap.

BAD:

We paid $132/night during our stay. For me, this was a little overpriced for what we got. Consider this... We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Innsbrook, Va for $79/night which had luxurious accommodations. Sure, we paid $10 for breakfast but is was a gourmet FEAST!

As other reviews have noted, the A/C unit is located right next to your bed and is of the style you will find in an EconoLodge or so and is VERY loud! We had to keep it off most of the time just to hear ourselves sleep!

The fan in the bathroom is a complete mystery to me...It literally sounds as if you are standing next to a Boeing 747. Why?

The night staff is beyond rude and offensive! They act as though you are disturbing them by wanting to purchase an overpriced item from their "market". Yes, all hotels in this class have overpriced market items but, at least be nice, smile and give me a reach around while I am being wallet raped!

The seating area for breakfast can get overcrowded quickly.

OVERALL:

I would stay here again, the morning staff was MORE than nice. The gentleman manning the breakfast bar was extremely nice! If they would simply replace the bathroom fans with a quieter model, relocate the A/C unit to be more like a central unit, this would be a near perfect stay!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank skoldpadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

Nice, new property but I expected more from Marriot. The hallways wreaked of disinfectant. Not good for a new baby. The bathrooms coulds have been cleaner. It was just ok, I would not stay there again.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank AndBabyMakesThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

We stayed at this hotel because the rates were signifcantly lower than those in the historic district or downtown Savannah. There was absolutely no noise from the airport at all, which was an initial concern. The hotel was very neat and clean and quiet. There were several fast food places near, as well as a Walmart, which was helpful. The only downside was the drive to get downtown for dining and entertainment. I would probably not stay here again if I were on a leisurely trip - but only because of its distance from everythign else. But if you don't mind driving a bit, its a good value. Business travelers who are not seeking local activities would enjoy the stay.

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank BusinessTraveler500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Allentown, PA
211
Reviewed July 1, 2006

Our family of 4 stayed for one night, on our way down to Disney World. We chose this hotel for its location and easy access off interstate 95. The rooms were a nice size. Small living area with a loveseat and chair and also a desk area. We were able to use our laptop to access the wireless internet as well. The beds were extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows and soft linens.

We also used the pool and hot tub which were very nice.

We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast which consisted of waffles (make your own), muffins, donuts, sausage and eggs (sized for the english muffins), cereal, oatmeal, milk, juice and coffee.

Check-in was a breeze! Thirty seconds each way!

Would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2006

Stayed here with two cousins in March during the Home and Gardens weekend. Loved the hotel. It was quiet, the beds were very comfortable. Lots of pillows. The staff excellent, maid service prompt and desk very informative. Although by the airport, very quiet. Only 15-20 minutes into the Historic District but a heck of a lot cheaper, plus they give you a breakfast. Cannot beat the value.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kennesawcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2006

Stayed at this hotel on January 7, 2006. This is a very nice Spring Hill Suites. I would recommend it highly if you like to stay at Spring Hill Suites. The lobby area was a new style and modernly decorated. I recently stayed at another newer SHS and this one had the same room decor -- very nice. Loved the room, the bed, and the free high speed internet. Agree with previous review that the fan in the bathroom should be on a separate switch. Overall, loved this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DrexelATLHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Airport
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Savannah Airport
Hyatt Place Savannah Airport
#24 of 116 in Savannah
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Savannah Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Savannah I-95 South
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Airport
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Airport

Address: 1 Jay R Turner Dr, Savannah, GA 31408-8070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $115 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Airport Hotel Savannah
Savannah Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing