We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Tour and stu the driver was very sweet and funny”
Review of Old Savannah Tours

Old Savannah Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.00*
and up
Historic On and Off Trolley Tour of Savannah
Ranked #7 of 141 Tours in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We Bring Savannah's History To Life. As the oldest and largest Savannah owned and operated company we have been proudly serving visitors to Savannah since 1979. While on our tour you may see re-en-actors of Forrest Gump, Johnny Mercer or even founding father General James Oglethorpe. Come join us and let us Bring History To Life for you.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Awesome Tour and stu the driver was very sweet and funny”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Tour was very informative as well. Great time. Stu was very nice and told great jokes. Knew a lot about the sights

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tianna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,552
    971
    237
    106
    96
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Early Evening Ghost Tour via Trolley”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My kids are 11, 9 and 7, so I didn't want a ghost tour that would cause them to come find me in the middle of the night terrified, but yet one that would still entertain them and us. This was a great balance - humorous, PG-rated, interesting, and overall very fun. We had Joan as our guide, she was phenomenal - incorporated virtually everyone on the trolley into some part of the tour. Just about the right length of time, too - 1.5 hours. I would definitely recommend this tour - after walking around Savannah for most of the day, it is a nice relaxing way to end the day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MomKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great historic Tour”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We did the get-on-and-off tour with Jeff was our guide. His sense of humor, singing songs, and knowledge of the Savannah history were all great. We enjoyed the historical characters who jumped on board also - an excellent addition to the knowledge base and interest. We loved his comments about the obviously tampered dates on tombstones in the Colonial Park Cemetery, courtesy of Sherman's troops camped out there. The pirate who first met us at the ticket booth was most helpful and gracious. We highly recommend Old Savannah Tours.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim L, General Manager at Old Savannah Tours, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us. We will be sure to let Jeff know you enjoyed your experience with him. Are motto here is to Bring Savannah's History to Life, and the characters are our way of showcasing Savannah's History in this way. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed this aspect of the tour. Thank you again for your review here, and we definitely look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic hop on hop off tours”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I did a Historic hop on hop off tour recently and found it great. The driver/guides were all enthusiastic and informative; one was a bit hard to understand as he spoke very fast, but as i was able to do that part of the tour more than once, it didn't matter. And I really enjoyed the characters that joined the tour, like the waving girl and Johnny Mercer, sharing in a really vibrant way a bit of Savannah's history.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day tour very good, ghost tour just ok”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We took the Overview and Haunts package, as we only had one day in Savannah. The Day tour was good, very informative and the tour guide was a retired life long resident, so he really knew his history. The Ghost tour at night was not as good, as it seemed like the tour guide was just trying too hard to impress everyone with ghost stories.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim L, General Manager at Old Savannah Tours, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us. WE are glad to hear that you enjoyed the daytime tour with us. We are sorry to hear that the ghost tour was not what you expected or wanted. We find that people want different things out of a ghost tour. Some like to be scared, some like the history, and some like a balance between the two. Different guides highlight different aspects. We are sorry that your experience on the ghost tour wasn't great. We hope that if you come back to Savannah you will try our ghost tour again with another guide. Again, thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again next time you're in Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Savannah Tours also viewed

 

Been to Old Savannah Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing