We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small, super well done & so interesting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pin Point Heritage Museum

Pin Point Heritage Museum
Ranked #9 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
South Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“small, super well done & so interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

you probably need a car to get to this "museum" - altho mass transporation may get you there? i use "museum" lightly because it's so unique but so informative. i don't know the full history of how this place came to be other than it was donated by the son, and it's now a part of another savannah museum group (was originally something else), but i highly recommend going to this place. i don't think it's geared for kids, altho they may be working to figure that out or have a unique tour for children? way back, ex-slaves settled in this area - BOUGHT waterfront land actually. part of the group known as geechee-gullah. they were isolated, 1 road, they had no cars, radios, phones, tv's. they had each other, 1 church & this small seafood factory. a charity came in to educate the children. even in the 1970-80's they were more isolated than other areas....
.
the view & land is gorgeous! the buildings (3-4) and some outdoor work areas are pristine. the displays and film are so so so well done!
.
you are warmly greeted by the museum staff, first you are taken to the film room. the film is beautifully done & documents the living people who grew up in this area & either worked as adults or children for this factory. some of the stories will make you laugh and some make you sad. the rest of the museum documents either the people's work, their play, the factory owners &/or their children. the guide takes you thru the areas but we really needed more time to read and look at everything that's offered. it's all about their land & work & life. the son of the original owner donated the property when they closed for good and he lives next door. the tour guide highlights (it wasn't busy, it's only open now 2 days per week & the website is minimal) various work processes, information about the land & original black ownership, and other aspects of the lives of these isolated people. the land, work & people are all so intertwined in this place.
.
after our tour we found the one street (1/2 block away) and drove down it. it's different than they remember it but it's unique and i'm so glad this history has been saved thru this museum. i will go back and read/look at everything i missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyMayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania P, General Manager at Pin Point Heritage Museum, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments about our museum .
The history and the story is amazing. I do want to help clarify
a couple of things. The museum was purchased by a private
benefactor. It was not donated. The benefactor purchased
this site and envisioned the end results. The Coastal Heritage Society
manages the operations at this facility. The program is for kids
and we have school groups visit the site regularly. I hope
you will visit again soon. We were originally open only
Saturdays. We have added Thursdays and as we grow we will
continue to extend our days of operation.

Best Regards,
Tania Smith-Jones
Site Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    39
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Received a personal guided tour by someone who was born & raised there. Very informative, lots of history & cultural information. Staff is extremely nice & kind.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilson184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania P, General Manager at Pin Point Heritage Museum, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thanks for visiting our museum we are very proud
to be part of this team. We really have to give credit to the owner
for all that he's done. The history is a legacy that we hope
will continue to be told.

Best Regards,
Tania Smith-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you're in the area, be sure to stop by. It provides a historic perspective to the first land owned by African Americans in the area.
There's a 35 min movie that provides oral history and local culture.
The museum is in pristine condition. You pretty much get your own private tour. Some of the exhibits are interactive and fun. The gift shop is tiny but welcoming (it's the visitor center) with a good selection of items, from books to postcards to jewelry and home adornments.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank toomuchfunnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania P, General Manager at Pin Point Heritage Museum, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for coming!

Best Regards,
Tania Smith-Jones
Site Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to visit whole in Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This is wonderfully done historical attraction center around the quiet marsh. The staff are extremely knowledgable and friendly. Highly recommend this if you are near Savannah.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania P, General Manager at Pin Point Heritage Museum, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for coming !
Thank you for your comments!
They are greatly appreciated!

Take care,
Tania Smith-Jones
Site Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So so worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We are English and love to learn about any aspect of American history. The Gullah Geechee community is an amazing story that should be shared. Our guide Gail was brilliant, so friendly and obviously passionate about her job and the people/history of Pin Point. The admission fee is very fair, they take AAA. The loos were spotless, the aircon most welcome, and overall a very nice spot to be away from the crowds in Savannah.

Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania P, General Manager at Pin Point Heritage Museum, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for coming! Thank you for taking the
time to comment about your visit. We really appreciate your
compliments.

Best Regards,
Tania Smith-Jones
Site Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pin Point Heritage Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Pin Point Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing