We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new SoHo is a tourist trap”
Review of SOHO South Cafe

SOHO South Cafe
Ranked #53 of 870 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Soho South Cafe has been made famous by its patrons as one of Savannah's staple weekly lunch and Sunday brunch spots. Opening its doors in 1997, Soho South Cafe is located in the heart of Historic Downtown Savannah, appropriately named after the iconic New York City neighborhood for its proximity to nearby shops and entertainment venues. Built originally as an automotive service station in 1945, the building sat vacant for a number of years before the restaurant's original owners acquired the space and transformed it into a restaurant. Most recently, the restaurant was acquired by Daniel Reed Hospitality and remodeled to make improvements to the existing model which represents the latest adaptation as it stands today. The design of the restaurant incorporates elements of iconic, archetypal New York City. The quirky, eclectic esthetic lends a sense of humor to the monumental, vast interior space which includes the buildings original exposed elements such as the steel windows, iron trusses, and solid wooden garage doors. The overall atmosphere results in a casual dining experience that works perfectly for lunch and private events.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The new SoHo is a tourist trap”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

As a local, I would frequent the ecclectically evolved delicious experience of SoHo at least THREE times a week. The new owners have removed the atmosphere rendering a space that is trying too hard, dinner portions that are missing more than half, and dinner prices that are more than double. (AKA the public.) Perhaps for lunch, but NEVER again for dinner; pretentious or otherwise. Sorry SoHo, you ruined a really good thing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    157
    46
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Soho has had staying power and is under new management and is sporting a new look. The food is as good as ever with the new menu, with many of the old favorites still listed. My group of friends ordered many of the sandwich offerings and were pleased with their choices. The quiche and soup were given high marks as well. My choice of a crab cake on a grit cake, along with grilled shrimp and Andouille Sausage gravy, was exceptional. The crab cake was generous in size and the Andouille Sausage gravy brought all the flavors together. It was served with a nice side salad that wasn't overly dressed, and I couldn't have been more pleased with my tasty selection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yankeedoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I visited SOHO by chance. I was shopping nearby and stopped in for lunch - how lucky! I selected Eggs Savannah, hollandaise, jumbo lump crab cake and poached egg over asparagus. This dish was absolutely incredible and everything was cooked to perfections. The biscuit and tomato bisque I had were also top notch. Service was great and so was the ambience. The restaurant is located in a warehouse-type building with funky decor. A truly enjoyable experience!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sallie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental NC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice cocktails, nice lunch”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were so impressed with the happy hour cocktails we enjoyed here one day that we returned the following day for lunch. We liked the fresh decor, the slightly eclectic menu and friendly service, and the kitchen was able to present a nice upgrade to some lunch time staples. Quiche was tasty, and my reuben was not quite great, but really good. The signature salad was the highlight of the meal -- very well put together.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uncleBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Newly reopened and wonderful vegetarian fare”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A large warehouse that is actually quite intimate and personal. We were delighted with the selection of vegetarian dishes. The food was great and service excellent. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynette449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOHO South Cafe also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to SOHO South Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing