We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with excellent service.”
Review of Lady & Sons

Lady & Sons
Ranked #104 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: America loves the "First Lady of Southern Cooking" Paula Deen and her The Lady & Sons restaurant in Savannah, Georgia. The Lady & Sons had its humble beginnings in June 1989, when Paula and her sons Jamie & Bobby launched the Bag Lady catering company out of her home. Soon after, the family's landmark restaurant opened its doors to much acclaim. The Lady & Sons offers The Lady's Southern Buffet daily for Lunch and Dinner. In addition The Lady & Sons offers a full menu packed with Deen Family Signature dishes Monday through Saturday, for Lunch and Dinner.
Milton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food with excellent service.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I came from Fl for a week of relaxation and fun in Savannah. We visited The Lady & Sons for my birthday dinner. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. Zack was our server and he was terrific! He even gave me a signed picture of Paula when he found out it was my birthday. We will definitely come again when we visit Savannah.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,769
    2,154
    1,900
    929
    686
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte nc
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“WHOOO BETTER COME HUNGRY”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was a great meal and experience.I would say if you are coming to paula's house please come hungry and try the buffet.Make a reservation and you must stand in line even with a reservation.It was great chicken,mashed potato's,cheesey meatloaf, it was just great and Wilo provides great service.And don't worry there is a buffet table on all 3 floors. It's funny to watch the people around you they go from smiles to stuffed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruiserttd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here to eat at the last minute before leaving town on Monday. We didn't have a reservation but walked in about 11:30 and were seated promptly. Had our two toddler boys with us and we ate the lunch buffet. We all loved it (think our boys are more than us). The chicken and all the sides were very good. The types of foods served on the buffet are made to be served family style so I'm not sure why some have complained. We found all the food to be piping hot and of great quality. It's southern sole food so if that's not your cup of tea tea done elsewhere. But I would recommend this to anyone! Staff was very attentive and friendly. They even caught before we walked out the door to let us know we'd left a sippy cup top. Also Restaurant was very very busy when we were there but we didn't feel rushed & had great meal!

Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaBeachaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenburnie
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skip It at all cost.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Paula, Paula, Paula what a let down! This was the worst $40 ($20 each) spent on a buffet ever. This exemplified the meaning of "SLOP in a trough". We had the buffet, terrible, presentation, taste, selection, I really have nothing good to say about it. Not just our opinion, we encountered two other patrons on our way out, their opinions were similar. Their comments were "the crab cake were disgusting and the fried green tomatoes were greasy". Finally, the comments from another couple we met earlier was "It's no better than cafeteria food". Stay away from this tourist trap, much better place to eat in Savannah. Wish I could of rated it lower that "1" or terrible.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It's a southern thing, y'all!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our carriage ride tour guide told us not to waste our money here. We decided to look at reviews which made us hesitant. A few close friends said they loved it but another friend said not to waste our money. We decided to see for ourselves. Loved it!! The chicken tasted just like my daddy's. Loved everything on the buffet.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katlowry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady & Sons also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Lady & Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing