We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch in English Pub during Masters week”
Review of Churchill's Pub

Churchill's Pub
Ranked #61 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Acclaimed Chef Michael DeMarco has teamed with a wide range of nearby farmers to feature locally-sourced ingredients in his stunning, cutting-edge new menu. The freshest, local ingredients are expertly combined to provide guests with delicious salads, entrees, sharing plates, sandwiches and desserts. Pair your selections with one of the numerous and ever-changing craft beers, something from the impressive wine-list or one of Churchill's signature cocktails to complete a truly fabulous dining experience
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great lunch in English Pub during Masters week”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had lunch in Churchill's, the second time to Savanna. It did not let us down again. We had the Shepherd's pie and it taste just as good as it was in London some years ago.
The ambience of the restaurant is fantastic. Jolly ole London style.
Just another great day in Savanna, Georgia.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggie068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    293
    116
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unreasonable”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very rude manager. Kicked our group out for unexplained reason. Tried to have a easy conversation with him and he was unwilling to listen. Do not go with a group.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forrest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChurchillsSav, General Manager at Churchill's Pub, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Had we known that the two separate reservations we took for parties of 20 on April 13th were actually for one fraternity of 60 or so, we would have politely declined. Large groups of celebrating college students of varying ages and levels of inebriation spell potential trouble of any restaurant. With some members of the group under the legal age to consume alcohol yet clearly already under the influence of it, we ran the risk of drinks being ordered and passed to minors. This not only puts individual staff members at legal risk but the restaurant as a whole. The rowdiness of this group brought complaints from existing patrons and seeing the level of inebriation of many individuals in the group, the only responsible action to take was to refuse service and to ask the group to leave.
I regret members of the group consider me to have been rude. I believe I was firm yet polite, not once responding in kind to the the foul language, insults and threats being aimed my way. It's unfortunate that a forum such as this can be used as a tool to attack as well offer honest assessments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly & Good”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have been here several times and enjoy the food, surroundings & the folks - customers & guests alike.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
760 reviews
490 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Very Good Fish and Chips”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This casual restaurant is a delightful place for lunch in Savannah. Churchill's is convenient to the historic district with easy access for the handicapped. I had the Fish and Chips and a pint of Guiness. I was pleasantly surprised. The fish was wrapped in newspaper the traditional British way. The fries were excellent as well. Our server, David, was very good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radiohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner, reasonably priced”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went here our last night in Savannah, having come our second night and it was full. I had the roasted pork shank and it was as described "fall off the bone good". Wine was reasonably priced. My daughter had the steak, which she wouldn't order again, fairly thin and overcooked/tough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchill's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Churchill's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing