We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prost!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bier Haus

Bier Haus
Ranked #176 of 858 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Prost!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Bier Haus was phenomenal. It is a little hard to find, as you have to walk through a set of double doors and down a hall until you reach the front of it. Once inside, sit back and enjoy a great time. They have a TREMENDOUS selection of beers, and the food is wonderful.

The food is very authentic, and is very well prepared. You can immediately taste the freshness of the ingredients and the love which goes in to every plate. The staff is very friendly and helpful with not only the food menu, but also deciphering between the what seems like a million different beer options.

I would definitely recommend the Bier Haus to anyone looking to enjoy authentic German cuisine and beer right here in Savannah.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The food was edible, but that's about it. the schnitzel i had looked nothing like the pics you will find on trip advisor. mine had a watery "gravy" with 3 tiny little mushrooms. their beer list has some obscure selections, which would have been cool if the list, or the server, could have given any information on them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mflocalcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection of beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This humble restaurant is only a 20 minute walk from downtown. It is in the back corner of a small shopping mall and has the best German food at a reasonable price. A local recommended it to us and we loved it. Off the tourist track and well worth a visit. The beer menu is about 3 pages long!! and it is great beer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Tennessee
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“worth the walk, worth the look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I found the listing in a tourist booklet. Since I was visiting I decided to walk. It took me about 25 min. to walk from down around Bryan St. A nice walk. There is not a big sign or flashing light to see. You must know where it is or look. It is bigger inside than it looks on the outside. There are 20 beer taps if you like draught. Lots of German biers in the bottle. My favorites. The food is very good. I had a schnitzel. You will be full when you leave. The staff is very accomodating and cheerful.
This is also a family style place.
When next I return to Savannah, I will be sure to visit the Bier Haus again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden in plain sight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Even when you enter the door from the outside you are not sure your in the right spot but don't let that deter you. There is a huge list of beir to choose from with a description for you to make your selection from. The waitress got 1 of 4 incorrect and in short order corrected the error. All 4 of us were very happy with our meals and we all tried each others and all around the food was just great. Everything about the evening was great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leeanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bier Haus also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Bier Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing