We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quick service and great food at a good price.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftaway Cafe

Driftaway Cafe
Ranked #37 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Driftaway Cafe specializes in "casual coastal cuisine" with an emphasis on flavor and fun! Driftaway Cafe was created out of the desire to serve the surrounding neighborhoods and businesses fresh local seafood in a fun and friendly atmosphere. Our vision was to offer our guests a quick bite to "eat out" or the opportunity to stay and "dine" whether or not it is a quick taco with a cold beer or one of our featured nightly entrees with a nice bottle of wine. We were set to open on September 11th, 2001! What a horrible day that was for all Americans. We postponed our opening so that terrible day would not be our anniversary. Needless to say, our first year was quite a challenge, but with the support of God, friends and family we continue to strive forward everyday. We specialize in made to order fresh local seafood dishes, fresh garden salads along with a variety of appetizers and sandwiches. Our talented Kitchen staff showcases their skills with nightly entree specials. We are known for our friendly atmosphere and our fun environment. We feature live music a few nights a week and have been blessed with a great staff and a regular repeat clientele! Driftaway Cafe Is a locally owned restaurant located near the Wormsloe Plantation and the historic Isle of Hope. Owners, Robyn and Michele, have been in business together for the last two decades in Savannah. They work hard as a team and have developed a great staff that have been taught to treat each person that walks through the doors not as just another customer, but as a guest in their own home. They work hard to instill a passion for food, fun, flavor and family into everyone they meet!
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“quick service and great food at a good price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

this is a place that I will return to over and over, food and service great, they make you feel like "regulars".

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemaryki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    123
    21
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gourmet with southern flare!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very unique offerings and eclectic atmosphere. Impressive wine list for a small place. Great place to get together with friends and family

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mymysmema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, KY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lobster Lasagne!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Every entree was super tasty, hot and well worth the $92 including 15% tip for our family of four. Waitress brought me a second Belgian Ale on tap without even asking which I really appreciated after a long day of flying. We highly recommend this place. Show up like we did before 5 pm and you won't have to wait long for a delicious meal.

Helpful?
Thank RV10pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is quickly becoming a favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I do not fancy myself as an adventure foodie, but I will try just about anything once. My latest foray into the wild side was at Driftaway Cafe in Sandfly. Looking at the specials menu it was like "hello, what do we have here? Elk Sliders, Bear Tacos, Prime Rib of Tibetian Yak?" I had the Yak. Eating adventueously occasionally comes with a surprise. In this case, I now know why Buddist Monks are silent during meals...Chewing. The Yak, while tasty is the perfect diet food. By the time you got it down, you expended more calories than you ate. Driftaway is busy on the weekends, why? Good food, generous portions and good service. Do yourself a favor, check it out. You never know what will be on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So very Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Every time my family visits Savannah we have always made time to have lunch or dinner here. We were so incredibly disappointed not only with our meal, (usually the grouper), but the service was unbelievably slow. When our meal was finally delivered to us, it was not hot and fresh tasting. We never did get another refill of water, or asked if we wanted another beer. We have always loved this place, but I am sad to say we are looking for a new favorite in Savannah.

Helpful?
1 Thank cybergrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftaway Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Driftaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing