We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas means little proportions in French...or something”
Review of Jazz'd Tapas Bar

Jazz'd Tapas Bar
Ranked #24 of 887 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: MUST BE 18 YEARS TO ENTER Located in Savannah's Historic District, Jazz'd has set itself apart. A sultry underground hot spot unique to anything else in Savannah. Described as swank, sexy & sophisticated. This industrial chic restaurant offers more than just your typical dining or drinking experience. Step into this spacious below-street-level gathering place for a specialty martini at our sleek serpentine bar or join friends at a table and dine from a selection of eclectic Americanized Tapas. Featuring live entertainment 6 nights a week: blues, swing, jazz, or classic vocals in the style of Sinatra or Savannah's Johnny Mercer. Enjoy a night out at Jazz'd, a cool contemporary getaway.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great food, although super small portions. Get service. Went to hear live music but they didn't go on until 9. Not a bad place, but I won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WeldingWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managing, Owners at Jazz'd Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for stopping in to see us. Tapas are actually meant to be smaller dishes in which you order various plates to share and sample. We're glad you enjoyed the food, and we'd certainly love the opportunity to see you again, maybe with a group of friends so everyone can order something and share among the group. We're sorry you missed the music, too. We get some great talent here from blues artists to jazz musicians, so we'd love for you to give us another try to get the full experience we have to offer you. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We hope you'll stop in again.

Cheers,

Brian and Julie, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

864 - 868 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

WOW is all we can say about this place. It's in the basement of a bldg and accessible from the sidewalk. They serve tapas and drinks. We stopped in for a glass of wine just when it was opening. The service was very good. We met a lively couple who said it was their favorite place to meet friends. We were there before the band sets up to play at 8:30, but the couple said there's always great talent there. Based on what little we saw, the tapas menu looked like something we'd like and I'm sure well find the same attention to service that we got on our first visit. We will go back for the food!

Thank Sheila6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managing, Owners at Jazz'd Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We appreciate you guys stopping in for some wine! We're pretty proud of the musicians we get to play here, and they always create a fun environment to eat and drink with friends. We hope you'll get to come by again to try the tapas and experience the music. Hopefully it will leave you even bigger fans of Jazz'd! Thanks for writing a review of your experience so far

Cheers,

Brian and Julie, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I loved Jazz'd. The food, drinks and jazz band were terrific. I agree the decor is outdated, but I don't have a problem revisiting the 90s--a time when the economy was doing well and it was fashionable to drink cosmos. And the decor did not affect the great food and service. The portions were also much larger than most tapas restaurants, which was nice. It's a great date spot, or would be fun with couples or friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jaime V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managing, Owners at Jazz'd Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Jaime,

We're glad you enjoyed yourself while visiting us! We're proud to offer great tapas options and a lively atmosphere for you to have a good time. You're right, there are actually lots of couples and friends who come to see us and order numerous items to share. If you're ever back in Savannah, drop in to see us again. Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review.

Cheers,

Brian and Julie, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I put a lot of trust into most reviews on Tripadvisor but this time we were mislead by fellow reviewers. We were highly disappointed.

Jazz'd was packed, which was a sign to us that it must be good. The wait wasn't too bad and the hostess was pleasant. The restaurant is loud, especially if you are seated near the band. The decor/set-up is odd, and not warm and inviting. But decor doesn't matter, if the food is good. This was NOT the case at Jazz'd. We ordered a bunch of dishes and were not wowed by any of them. The best dish we had was the empanadas. The paella was watery and not seasoned well, the shrimp fritters were soggy and had more onions than any other ingredient, the chicken lettuce wraps were too salty to eat, the crab cakes were nothing special, etc.

We also saw a waitress take a dirty tablecloth and flip it over for the next guests to eat on. A bit gross and just proved corners were being cut.

On a good note the drinks were good and well priced and the music was nice.

Savannah isn't known for tapas, and we should have known better. Skip it and go eat somewhere good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jodes244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managing, Owners at Jazz'd Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

This is very disappointing to hear, and we certainly wish you'd have brought this to our attention at the time. The reason you see so many glowing reviews is because people have had great experiences here, and we're very sorry that your experience didn't reflect that. Cutting corners is not part of our policy and this will be addressed with the staff immediately. Just because Savannah isn't known for tapas, doesn't mean great options can't be served here. We invite you to give us another try if you're ever back this way. We know we have what it takes to impress you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we're glad you enjoyed the music and drinks.

Sincerely,

Brian and Julie, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Since I am a local I get to visit Jazz'd often...I love it! The food is a little pricey for tappas but the martinis make it worth the trip. Jazz music & delicious martinis. Check em out!

Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managing, Owners at Jazz'd Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Marie,

We're always happy to hear from a local here, and it's great to know that you love coming to see us! Thanks for taking the time to write your review and letting us know that you love what we're doing here. Stop in any time you're in the mood for great food and atmosphere. We'll be glad to see you. Thanks again!

Cheers,

Brian and Julie, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jazz'd Tapas Bar also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Jazz'd Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing