We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #420 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favorite place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My absolute favorite place for lunch. I love their lunch buffet. They have about a dozen items (meat & vegetarian) it's all really good (and fresh) and it's all you can eat for only $10. I haven't eaten there for dinner yet, but as for lunch, it's great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank unamatrix08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Needs to be consistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have dined at this restaurant several times of the years with assorted friends and family. Our most recent experience was somewhat disappointing in that it was not as good as the previous dining experience. The meat in my lamb dish was cubed and did not seem all that flavorful, as it was swimming in sauce. The servings are adequate in size and can be ordered to whatever degree of spice ones palate desires.

The take-out order that we placed turned out to be disappointing when we got home and discovered it was not the saag paneer as ordered. The Tandoori chicken was on the dry side but flavorful.

I noted that the menu reflects price increases almost across the board, but it is not reflected in the quality of the dishes as we've come to expect.

Our waitress provided excellent service throughout our meal. We expressly requested this waitress as opposed to the waiter from a previous occasion who was most inattentive and unresponsive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yankeedoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of exotic flavors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Closest I've found stateside to delicious food in India. I've eaten here for dinner full menu service and lunch buffet. Both have been worth it! The staff has consistently been attentive, the restaurant clean and decked out with Indian decor...even the tables and silverware seem to have flair of authentic India. I would enjoy the food if it were served on styrofoam plates!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krazykras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Oh my, this was good Indian food. We ordered off the menu, had beer and wine and it still only came to $60 with 20% tip included. Good quality food and the staff are very helpful and friendly - about 6 different staff came to check with us and to make sure everything was good. Place was clean and well kept.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SugarbabeVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I went for the buffet, and wow, it was sooo good! The atmosphere is beautiful and serene, the service friendly and attentive, the place was immaculate, and the price so reasonable at about $10 for all you can eat. Most importantly, the food was outstanding--there were 3 vegetarian choices (not sure when the earlier reviewer went, but if you add jasmine rice and salad bar/dessert, there was even more veg choices), and 3-4 entrees--all super flavorful and satisfying. I will DEFinitely be back--YUM!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Digitalsandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 
Pooler, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing