We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Night Gem”
Review of Kevin Barry's

Kevin Barry's
Ranked #95 of 894 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We ended up at Kevin Barry’s twice in four days during our recent trip to Savannah. The first time was on a Sunday and we were looking for a late night drink. We also heard from our hotel that there would be live music. Gabriel Donohue was an amazing performer that really made us feel included. He asked if we were on our honeymoon (we weren’t) and even played us an Irish love song. The second time we visited was after our ghost tour. It got out kind of late and the majority of places had stopped serving food. My husband had the shrimp pasta and I had traditional bangers and mash. I loved mine and the server mentioned that the sausage was made in house. I will say that the service was slow both nights and our waitress was not very friendly the second night. But we will still be back. Amazing little find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lani_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbpub, Guest Relations Manager at Kevin Barry's, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

lani_marie

I am so glad you enjoyed Kevin Barry's! We are pleased that you enjoyed your dinner as well as our live entertainment! I do apologize for the service. Kevin Barry's takes great pride in making sure all of our guests feel right at home. Please contact me at 912-233-9626 and tell me who the server was so we can speak to them.

We look forward to having you back!

Thank You
Kevin Barry's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 548 of 782 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Gabriel Donohue was the live entertainment. He was Fantastic. Great night of music. He is personable, quite the musician, and entertainer. If you love Irish music, he is the one to hear. They add a two dollar cover charge to your bill, per person. That is cheap for this type of entertainment.
Okay, now for the negative. Our waitress was terrible. Totally ignored us after bringing us drinks. We finally had to get a guy working there to take our food order. I watched the waitress wait on others who came in after us and they got food before us. However, she seemed disorganized overall. The guy was good.
Go for the music, not the waitress.
Oh, the men's room was filthy. FYI.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Coffeeisready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbpub, Public Relations Manager at Kevin Barry's, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Coffeeisready

First allow me tell you how sorry I am for the service you received. It is Kevin Barry's first priority to make sure our guests feel welcome and properly taken care of by our staff! Can you please call me at 912-233-9626 and ask for Tara (or if I am not here please leave me a message)? Please let me know what night you visited? I would assume the night of the 3rd as per your review, but I want to be sure before I address this situation with the staff.

We are, however, glad you enjoyed the entertainment! We love having Gabriel Donohue in house performing! Please come back and visit us soon and enjoy our other talented performers!

Thank you
Tara Reese
Kevin Barry's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I went to this irish pub because we heard there was entertainment. I had the fish and chips and my husband had the shepherds pie. My fish was just nicely lightly battered and the chips were fantastic. My husband said his shepherds pie had too much potato and not enough meat.
Then JJ came on stage and he was fantastic. I loved that he got the crowd participating. He has a great voice and is a real entertainer. I laughed so hard at some songs, my stomach hurt.
If we were here longer we would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank barrshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbpub, Public Relations Manager at Kevin Barry's, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Barrshar

I wanted to take a moment and apologize that your husband felt like there was too much potato on his shepherd pie and not enough meat. Our Shepherds pie is one of the signature items on our menu and we always strive to make sure it is perfect. We hope you come back again and give it another try!

We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed JJ and we hope in a future visit you are able to enjoy our other talented musicians!

Best,
Kevin Barry's Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here for a late dinner and drinks. We were told we could sit anywhere and we grabbed a seat in the back where live music later started being performed. There ended up being a $2 cover charge per person on the bill for that. I didn't find the entertainment that great. We ordered a pizza from the appetizer menu, and it was absolutely delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BeachTravel012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbpub, Public Relations Manager at Kevin Barry's, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for stopping by Kevin Barry's Irish Pub and we are glad you enjoyed the pizza from our appetizer menu.

As you walk into the music room you should have seen a sign stating there was a $2 cover. My most sincere apologies if it was in a place where it could be over looked.

We look forward to having you again

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Ended up here 4 times in 5 days, pleasant place. Loved listening to music in a small venue without it being too noisy or loud. Also went back just to hang out with friends and enjoy whiskey and Guinness. Never had a meal there, so can't really say anything about the food. Snack tray we bought was tasty. Loved that there were no TVs and that the balcony had AC (was a hot time).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbpub, Public Relations Manager at Kevin Barry's, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

David

We are so glad you enjoyed Kevin Barry's Pub in Savannah, GA. We pride ourselves on the fact we do not have televisions to distract people from having old fashion "face time". Next time you visit us enjoy our special of the day that allows our talented chiefs to showcase their creations.

Kevin Barry's Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kevin Barry's also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Kevin Barry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing