We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food only OK, but the decor is worth seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kevin Barry's

Kevin Barry's
Ranked #83 of 859 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Washington
Level Contributor
283 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Food only OK, but the decor is worth seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ok, it's a bar so you'd expect bar food. It was OK.

But this Irish pub, which is celebrating 32 years on Historic River Street, has a river view balcony, along with live music nightly. Music started at 9 pm so needless to say we didn't stay for it.

Kevin Barry’s is known throughout the world as one of the top Irish pubs and also as a foremost bar for military personnel.

Kevin Barry’s is considered a home away from home for many service members. It seems to be a required stop those wishing to see its Hall of Heroes. Very tastefully done, it is definitely something you need to see as well.

There is a great view from the balcony upstairs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    232
    80
    39
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Guinness and corned beef! Awesome combo....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is an Irish pub/restaurant along historical, unique River Street. It has live traditional music every night. Unfortunately, I visited the place too early to enjoy this activity.

The bartender was very friendly and did a great job. She poured the Guinness just right, and it was a fantastic libation. Paradise in a pint! There is an art to this...and she did it to perfection. Sorry I didn't get your name, but I guess I was enjoying the brew and beef too much.

I asked her to recommend something to eat, I was in the mood for a sandwich, and she suggested the corned beef. The corned beef was excellent, tasty, and tender. Additionally, the sandwich itself was huge. Well worth the money, and my taste buds were happy.

Overall, I would highly recommend this establishment for a cold brew and a satisfying meal. Then get your favorite adult beverage to go and sit on River Street to do some people watching, or just simply taking in the atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCosmicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our opinion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had snacks, drinks, and a meal in this bar. The staff is great and don't stop moving for an instant. The are fun and friendly. the food was excellent. There is also live Irish music every night which varies in quality. We met some really friendly people at the bar. Definitely worth a visit if you enjoy Guinness and good banter!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Bar With Fun Entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stopped by Kevin Barry's Pub for a pint or two of Guinness. There was a friendly staff and a friendlier cliental. If you visit, you must take time to walk around the various rooms and look at Hall of Heroes - a collection of military memorabilia displayed on the walls - very thought provoking indeed. Be sure to go upstairs as well. We decided to eat there after a bit. It was somewhat typical pub grub. The highlight of the night came when Harry O’Donoghue started to sing. He is a most talented and versatile entertainer and well worth seeing if you came to Savannah.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food and entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here on our first night in Savannah. We had a great time listening to the music and enjoyed our food. Our server was marginally average, but I think she was a little overwhelmed by the crowd. Food was great and the atmosphere is light and fun. We will definitely return on future visits and I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for tasty food and enjoys live Irish entertainment. The décor makes you feel like you've stepped back in time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BHarris63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kevin Barry's also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Kevin Barry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing