We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local Seafood in Seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shell House Restaurant

Shell House Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local Seafood in Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent Seafood and lots of variety of local dishes. The service was great and the atmosphere was perfect.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PrimLgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    147
    87
    39
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Our food was served quickly and the waitress was very polite.The food was great and there wasn't much mess on the table because of a center trash can!They also have an alligator named Dudley(no worries,the pond's only accessible by a fenced deck)Great place to eat dinner as that's the only meal they serve!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer11966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Would not be my first choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went to the Shell House since it was St. patricks day and everything was booked. The service was good but the food portions were very small and not worth the price. We had oysters on the half shell an at about $18.00 or $19.00 a dozen which is $1.50 each there were very small. one was the size of a dime. Most places I have been would not have counted it in the dozen and made up with an extra oyster. We also ordered a side of hush puppies. They were $2.50 for five small hush puppies about the size of a pecan or smaller. We were not looking for cheap but fair value would have been nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Divepatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Exit 94 on 95”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

A revisit every year on our way South. The food is mostly fried, unless you want oysters....but if you enjoy oysters on the half shell be prepared to open them yourself...you heard me yourself...ouch. The portions are large. Big enough to share and tasty. enjoy

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never go again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The food was overpriced. With the pricing we thought we were going to get a high quality dinner. So disappointed it was small portioned and it was something I could have went to fast food restuarant. The food was awful and was given plastic utensils. They do not have a drink menu so you are left to have to guess what you would like to drink. After looking the menu online and speaking with locals, we found that the prices were jacked up for the holiday which I thought was wrong. I paid $28 for a 2 small crab cakes and shrimp and got twice as much food at Bernie 's for less.This was NOT a good experience. Food, service does not match price!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aden11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shell House Restaurant also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Shell House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing