We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nothing fancy.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tubby's Seafood

Tubby's Seafood
Ranked #81 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Savannah's greatest dining room with a view! Watch the ships roll by Tubby's large outdoor deck on the riverfront. Serving a wide range of fresh catches, crabcakes, and fare for the land lovers, Tubby's cooks up breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily!
New England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food, nothing fancy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We ate here twice, first for the fried shrimp and the next for the snow crab and shrimp...both times happy with our meal. Its nothing fancy but we enjoyed it. Located right in the midst of the activity on the River Walk, lots of shops, music and fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    520
    308
    101
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Balcony for river watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Sitting on balcony is a must. River watching and people watching was fun. Incredibly huge loaded container ships were amazing. Food and beer were just fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moopa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go downstairs instead”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We thought the location would be great and the atmosphere too, the place is right on River St. And had live music. We waitrd for about half hour for a table and once we got seated we were greated by the snottiest and least interested waiter ever.

My brother ordered abd the waiter walked off without even wait for my order. I had to call him back so i could get my order in. Not a good start. Throughout the meal he did not acknowledge our presence there maybe because we did not order any expensive drinks but water. We did not appreciate the treatment and the level of service.
Food was average, big portions but nothing especially wonderful.

If in doubt opt for Huey's downstairs, food is special and the service is impeccable.
It's a hgher level of cuisine, priced higher too but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonellinaUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, good view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Although we could have been seated immediately if we dined inside, we opted to wait for about 15 minutes to sit on the porch. It was a slightly cool spring evening with a lovely view as the sun was setting behind the Talmadge Memorial Bridge. Our waiter was excellent! My husband and I both ordered the fried shrimp and fish dinner. The shrimp was great. The fish wasn't bad but it was so mild that it lacked flavor and was a little greasy. We were too full to order dessert. All in all, an enjoyable evening with satisfying food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great fish and view of Savannah River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have been visiting family in Savannah and we went here for dinner. Maybe a 10 minute wait and we were seated. My wife had the chicken fingers. It was a huge portion and very tasty. I have the fried shrimp and fish finger combo and it was off the hook. Super fresh fish and chicken. We all had drinks and they were good as well. Atmosphere was great as we sat outside with a view of the river and River St. There was a guy singing with a guitar and was pretty cool. Service was excellent and everything was delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coffeebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tubby's Seafood also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tubby's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing