We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the Pot Roast!”
Review of Six Pence Pub

Six Pence Pub
Ranked #39 of 869 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Order the Pot Roast!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I love pot roast...if it's on the menu, I will likely order it. It was the best pot roast I've had in years...moist and great flavor. The mashed potatoes and collard green sides were also excellent. My husband ordered the soup and salad...good salad with balsamic vinaigrette dressing. The soup of the day...artichoke and spinach...was just ok. Our server was very attentive and warned us the kitchen was backed up because they were so busy. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvToEat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    944
    662
    204
    49
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
583 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Crab cake and a Black & Tan 'hit the spot'”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Found this pub while walking: I was tired and hungry after a 6 hour drive to Savannah. The restaurant was busy at 2 PM with lunch crowd, a lot with tour stickers on their clothes. The staff was busy and really hustling around taking orders and delivering food. I was seated within a few minutes, and my order taken quickly. The crab cake was delicious and the beer cold.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenBee0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
276 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“is food this expensive in the uk?”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were absolutely famished and finally decided to stop at the next restaurant we found, and this was it. I had an $11 turkey sandwich with chips and my boyfriend had an $11 roast beef sandwich with potato salad. I guess I was mostly peeved because I could've recreated the same meal at home for about $2 and have never paid so much for such simple fare. The place was crowded, but our server was friendly and attentive, and they had a nice selection of beers. I didn't pick up much of a pub vibe, if any, but there was an old-fashioned phone booth outside that seemed to be a popular photo op for tourists.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grace m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I'd stick with the atmosphere and adult beverages....”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Having lived in the UK and being a fan of British pubs, we stopped off here for lunch. The food, much like the UK left alot to be desired. The atmosphere and alcohol selection are good, but leave the food menu on the table. Service was friendly, arrive before noon or after 1 to avoid the rush of tour groups.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimmys2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fun and Great Food”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The food was excellent. The service was great. The ambiance was fantastic. My wife and I really enjoyed it, and we can't wait to go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Pence Pub also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Six Pence Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing