We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good British grub.”
Review of Six Pence Pub

Six Pence Pub
Ranked #38 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good British grub.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped in for a beer and some late lunch after wandering around the historic district. We both had a blacksmith, a mix of Guinness stout and Smithwick's ale. Excellent BUT it was too cold to start...real beer is not served icy cold. Cold inhibits taste receptors. So about 55° would have been perfect and as it warmed it just tasted better.
I had the shepherd's pie, my go to at this kind of place. It was very good, but not enough gravy. It was loaded with meat. The salad that came with it was very nice and crispy, full of flavor.
My friend had the pot roast with wild rice and baby carrots, it was melt in your mouth tender and good.
No room for dessert...
The service was very very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    957
    672
    206
    50
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“British food!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent food for Lunch!
My husband really enjoyed his shepherd pie and I the seafood stew soup with a side salad and a cheddar cheese wedge. A beer on the side was the perfect lunch after walking the historical district. Give it a try.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sabinesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

While the decor was very historical and enjoyable, we are not sure we would return for the food. It was fine, but nothing was particularly memorable. It was not busy. Most tables were filled with tourists like ourselves.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mttslulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Stop before The Historic Savannah Theater Visit”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped in the Six Pence Pub prior to going to the show "Savannah Live" at The Historic Savannah Theater. The waitress was most congenial and suggested appetizers for us. We had the loaded bangers and mash as well as the melted brie with fruit. My husband could cheer with the guests during the televised football games while we waited for our show to begin. It was wonderful time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolHopperBader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSP
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the Six Pence!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had stopped here for a quick drink before as it is right on Bull Street, which is so fun to walk. But, we decided to stay and eat with friends and totally enjoyed the food. Much better than typical pub or bar food. More like "home cooking". Our friends totally enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FranceinSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Pence Pub also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Six Pence Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing