We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continuing Pub Crawl”
Review of Six Pence Pub

Six Pence Pub
Ranked #38 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Continuing Pub Crawl”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stopped in here on our impromtu pub crawl in Savanah and met some great people! Our bartender was great....very friendly and the atmosphere around the bar was upbeat and welcoming! We didn't eat here, but we will when we go back in the spring. The decor is very English pub style.....cozy with lots of character! You are bound to strike up a conversation with some locals....and they might even join you on your pub crawl!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islanderx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    957
    672
    206
    50
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Reuben sandwich is awesome. Best we ever had. The shepherd's pie is really good, too. Small pub with lots of décor from Great Britain. Staff is friendly. Great place for a pint and meal to take a break from checking out the Historic District.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank archeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“vegetarians pay heed”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Six Pence is our first or second stop when we hit Savannah/Tybee. We're vegetarians and highly recommend the veggie burger with Swiss cheese on toasted pumpernickel. Add both types of spicy brown mustard and go to town. The potato salad here is the best we've had lately. We also highly recommend the Reuben with extra sauerkraut in lieu of meat. Six Pence is a great place to grab a meal before taking a ghost tour. Pound a whiskey on the rocks before leaving. :-) We've never had a bad experience at Six Pence.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrNeuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sat at the bar and had the ploughmans lunch that consisted of soup (French onion) salad (recommend their ranch dressing delicious) cheddar cheese wedges, a piece of French bread, pickled onion, crackers...great lunch.also had a pint of Strongbow cider. Great choice! Atmosphere is great with the pub feel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 73Mis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious! A great choice!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My mom and I took a girls trip to Savannah. We were walking one night to find somewhere to eat dinner, and we stumbled upon Six Pence. We looked at the menu outside and decided to go on in, and I'm so glad we did! It's a quaint little pub, but full of charm and great decor. there were many choices on the menu. I ordered the chicken salad on pumpernickel bread! oh my goodness it was so yummy! It came with kettle chips, I'm not sure if these were homemade or not, but they were delicious. My mom ordered a salad sampler that included chicken salad, shrimp salad, and tuna salad. She said that her's was okay - personal preference. For desert we shared bread pudding. I'm normally not a fan of it, but oh my goodness I wanted more once we were finished, so delicious! Don't leave savannah without eating here!!

also, service was excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blesstheusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Pence Pub also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Six Pence Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing