We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good as Ever”
Review of Belford's Savannah

Belford's Savannah
Reserve with OpenTable
Belford's Savannah is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Montgomery Street
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“As Good as Ever”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were in Savannah for the day for the first time in a number of years. On several brief Savannah visits over the past 30 years, though most recently about 10 years ago, we've had a lot of okay food (mostly on River St.) but nothing too remarkable that we could recall. Around lunch time we were in the area of the City Market when we remembered a restaurant there where we had eaten dinner about '03, the best meal we've ever had in Savannah and an exception to the "okay food" we were remembering. We knew the location but not the name, so we headed to the Market and found it - Belford's. We crossed our fingers and went in for lunch. We were pleased that the food quality was as good or better than we recalled. This time we'll try to remember the name and might even make the effort to drive into town for a meal on one of our annual 2-5 trips passing Savannah on I-95.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripsforwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    456
    190
    114
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Thank you Mother Nature”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

By sheer luck (rain) we managed to find Belford's. And we're glad we did. We had a great lunch on the patio. Inside had a nice atmosphere, but the patio was perfect for the clearing skies and people watching in City Market. Bathrooms could use some updating, however.

As for the food, the starters (salads and calamari . . . nice sauce) were good, and the entrees were even better. The burger, though not big, was tasty; the roast beef sandwich (nice twist with gouda cheese and spinach) was excellent, and the crab cakes were outstanding. Stevie, our server, was very attentive. Overall, we had a great experience at Belford's and would definitely go back. Oh, and almost forgot . . . the bread pudding . . . outstanding!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfordsSavannah, General Manager at Belford's Savannah, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Well, we are happy you found us as well! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. We do hope you’ll join us again on your next visit to downtown Savannah!
Sincerely,
Andy Gromet
GM Belford’s Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Belfords good stuff”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Nice outdoor area on the square, food is good as is service. Good place to go and just watch the people

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlwilsonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfordsSavannah, General Manager at Belford's Savannah, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
The people watching from our patio is great! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. We do hope you’ll join us again on your next visit to downtown Savannah!
Sincerely,
Andy Gromet
GM Belford’s Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

One of the best dining experiences I've had in a long time. Co-workers were in town and they wanted to eat there. The food and service were excellent, our waitress was awesome. The grilled salmon I had was the best I've ever eaten, overall a great night there. Highly recommended, would return in a minute.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfordsSavannah, General Manager at Belford's Savannah, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. We do hope you’ll join us again on your next visit to downtown Savannah!
Sincerely,
Andy Gromet
GM Belford’s Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I am rating this average as the food was good and we may have had a bit of a one-off experience with the service staff. I would not go back here because I believe there are other choices that may provide a more welcoming, caring service. Our waiter was rather nonchalant, barely took time to talk to us about the options, rushed off, and it we were after prime time. It seemed to be a bother to the whole place that we (my wife and I, on our anniversary, not that anyone there asked us if it was a special occasion). Food however was very good. I hope you have a more positive experience if you go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canuktrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfordsSavannah, General Manager at Belford's Savannah, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a great dining experience at Belford’s. We pride ourselves on great food and service and it sounds as though that did not happen on your visit. We love the opportunity to help guests celebrate their special occasions. We'd love to have you back again to give us another chance.
Sincerely,
Andy Gromet
GM Belford’s Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belford's Savannah also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Belford's Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing