We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiddler's Crab House

Fiddler's Crab House
Ranked #93 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Touring is a tough job, so we stopped in for some clams and oysters to keep us going through our rough day. We ordered oysters Rockefeller and a pound of steamed clams. The clams are served in a dreamy broth of clam liquor, garlic, and butter with a nice crusty French bread for dipping. The oysters Rockefeller are chocked with spinach, good bread crumbs, cheese (provolone?) and topped with perfectly cooked bacon pieces. Maybe the best ever. Enjoy with the beverage of your choice, mine was a craft beer from Georgia.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jagsfan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    311
    193
    77
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Service on the balcony was great. Food was a bit pricey for what you got. We ordered the boiled shrimp appetizer, clam strips, and crab cake sandwich. While we ate, we noticed that everyone around us had raw oysters, so maybe we just didn't know that this was the place to get oysters. The food, generally was good, but had we known how few shrimp you get in the appetizer portion, we would not have paid $13 for about 8-10 shrimp, shell on, not cleaned. Overall, the food was not bad, just a bit overpriced. I guess this was our fault for taking the suggestion from our hotel concierge.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and plenty of it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had dinner here on a Monday night. No wait and service was good. This was the only place on River Street where we could find fried clams, and we were not disappointed. The portion was huge and the clams were great. Also tried the crab bites and the crab stew and both were very good. Prices were average for the quality/quantity of food and atmosphere of this establishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZacksAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmosphere, Service a little slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

At here twice during our visit to Savannah, GA. Directly on the riverfront in an old building which gives it great atmosphere. Food was good both times but the second time the service was very slow. We were told it would be a 45 minute wait which was okay but we did see vacant tables. In 45 minutes we were called up and seated at the very same vacant table we had seen earlier. They were still telling people there would be a wait when we counted 4 vacant tables. Seemed unorganized or they didn't have enough kitchen or wait staff. Besides this, the food was good and will repeat

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Oysters and Jermain (aka as "Slap" was a terrrific, personable waiter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I sat at the raw bar, (first bar on left as you walk into the door. Jermain ("Slap) was our waiter and along with the delicious steam oysters ( we got a bucket of them for $13.99) and shrimp he made the evening enjoyable. They give you the necessary equipment to open your own oysters! They have a nice selection of craft beers also. A fun and delicious night. Thanks Jermain!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiddler's Crab House also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Fiddler's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing